Newbie Questions

• WELCOME TO THE NEW SERVER!

If you are seeing this you are on our new server WELCOME HOME!

While the new server is online Scott is still working on the backend including the cachine. But the site is usable while the work is being completes!

Thank you for your patience and again WELCOME HOME!

CLICK THE X IN THE TOP RIGHT CORNER OF THE BOX TO DISMISS THIS MESSAGE
Status
Please reply by conversation.

Mog

Original poster
Jan 16, 2006
Hi I'm thinking into getting into the fta hobby and would like to know if anyone has links to any faqs for a beginner...... absolute beginner lol. Anyways want I hope to accomplish is to understand what parts to buy , how to set it up and use it basically. Also the main reason for doing all this is to get whatever free chinese channels there are out there. Now I'm located in Toronto , Canada so I'm not sure if location plays a big part in getting all the chinese channels. I'm assuming they mostly if not all come from china. Also are there any links with info for all the free chinese channels I can get? That way I can see if it's worth it our not. Thanks for any help.

As far as 'links' to get info. you're on the right site. Just do A LOT of reading on this site and it should answer most, if not all of your questions. My experience, once I decided to delve into ku band, was to get my hands on an old Primestar dish ( I have found several of them in neighbors' yards (they are obsolete) and they were tickled to get rid of them (I just had to pluck them from the ground). I also found a used c/ku analog receiver (free) that another neighbor had laying around so I grabbed that..........so far, getting into FTA hadn't costed me one red cent. I did bite the bullet and buy a new Pansat 2700A receiver. It did come with a 4x1 diseqc switch so I was able to pick up four sats. at once (with 4 P* dishes of course). Bottom line, it's a very inexpensive hobby and loads of fun. BTW, Iceberg and PSB are awesome at tech. advice.