newbie to DirectTV

• WELCOME TO THE NEW SERVER!

If you are seeing this you are on our new server WELCOME HOME!

While the new server is online Scott is still working on the backend including the cachine. But the site is usable while the work is being completes!

Thank you for your patience and again WELCOME HOME!

CLICK THE X IN THE TOP RIGHT CORNER OF THE BOX TO DISMISS THIS MESSAGE
Status
Please reply by conversation.

ochie927

Active SatelliteGuys Member
Original poster
Apr 21, 2009
illinois
Hi, I'm new to all this so please bear with me ..

I've always had cable and I'm moving to a new home soon. Closing should be done within the next 10 days and I'm interested on having DirectTV. I just have a few concerns and I hope someone can help me out.

First is, are they going to be drilling holes on our wall? We have cable outlets on the walls of the rooms where I was thinking on setting up some TVs .. are they going to use those or are they going to drill holes and run cables on our walls? If they drill and run lines around, this might upset my wife and might be a dealbreaker and I would definitely be disappointed as I'm reading how DirectTV is superior to Comcast ...

Also, it's a townhouse and ours is sort of like in the middle of a building with 6 homes, so I'm thinking they might end up setting it up on the roof .. how do they get up there? I've been reading some messages here saying that I should supervise them ... how am I going to supervise them on the roof? It's also going to be a new address (which isn't available in mapquest or any GPS navigation system I've tried so far) .. is this going to be a problem?

Thank you so much in advance for your help ...

Do the cables from the wall outlets terminate in a common location? If so, then there is no reason why they couldn't be used for DirecTV. It would have to be an SWM installation. I suggest you do some homework and find out all you can about the cabling.