Newbie with a problem In Arizona

• WELCOME TO THE NEW SERVER!

If you are seeing this you are on our new server WELCOME HOME!

While the new server is online Scott is still working on the backend including the cachine. But the site is usable while the work is being completes!

Thank you for your patience and again WELCOME HOME!

CLICK THE X IN THE TOP RIGHT CORNER OF THE BOX TO DISMISS THIS MESSAGE
Status
Please reply by conversation.

rgbarnes

Original poster
Jun 22, 2007
Hello all,

my name is Ron and I am new to the FTA arena. I purchased a viewsat Ultra and motorized dish with quad LNB from Go Satellite. I have followed all of the instruction. but I do not get a good signal .

I am located in Pinetop AZ Long 109.444 Lat 34.12

The pole is vertical when measured with a level on three sides and across the top.

The dish is oriented to true south as varified by using a compass with an offset of 11.94 degreees declination. And using the old boy scout three sticks in the ground to find EW and coming off that line at 90 degrees.

The motor elevation is set by using the elevation and the Latitude scales on either side of the mount. Latitued is set at 34 Degrees and elevation at 55.5.

The dish angle is set per the motor infomation at 30 minus 5.5 or 24.5.

I have tried to use USALS to locate various satellites. and Installer mode to move te dish.

I get a signal strength from 60 to 67 accross the board.

I have reset the reciever to factory default and manually returned the dish to 0 degrees before testing.

I know I must be doing something wrong, but I can not figure out what. Any help you can give me would be greatly apprecaited.

Ron

A heads up on your magnetic declination: It is 10 degrees, 38 minutes East as of today and decreasing by six minutes per year.

I adjusted for the magnetic error with no results. Does geographic elevation make a difference? I am located at 8000 plus elevation. Is acorrection required?

Ron

Your elevation makes no difference.