newbie with hughesnet dish

Status
Please reply by conversation.

willie8605

SatelliteGuys Pro
Original poster
Jan 6, 2009
Oklahoma
Sorry for posting a link to another thread on this site, but I found an old thread talking about this and apparently it is too old to post a reply to.

http://www.satelliteguys.us/free-air-fta-discussion/133559-hughesnet-dish-can-used-c-ku.html

I have a Hughesnet elliptical dish (about 26" x 36") and it was suggested to bypass the transmitter to be able to use this for Ku band reception.

Can I just take the transmitter and waveguide completely off?

I am a newbie at FTA. This dish was given to me and I just bought a Viewsat Ultra Lite. I have a mounting point on a pole in my yard left by the previous tenants that used it for Dish Network. Hopefully I can get this up and running this week :)

I took the waveguide off and there is now an open hole that is, I'm assuming, used for connectivity to the transmitter. Can I just tape this over with electrical tape or is there something else I need to do to properly cover the hole?

I taped over mine, reminds me I need to look at that again lol. You could prob cut a small piece of plastic and glue it over the hole for something a bit sturdier than plastic tape. I'll get around to that soon too, i hope!

I took the waveguide off and there is now an open hole that is, I'm assuming, used for connectivity to the transmitter. Can I just tape this over with electrical tape or is there something else I need to do to properly cover the hole?

I cut out a piece of plastic - secured with liquid nails. Covered the patch with duct tape to help with water intrusion.

Works well!

(That's my DW dish in the picture)

What is the degree of the LNB on the Directway dish? Someone recently gave me one of those dish.

I'm not really sure about this. I can take some pictures and post them later today.