Nimiq1, Nimiq2 + T5 on ONE dish... is it possible?

Status
Please reply by conversation.

hammer123

Original poster
Jun 15, 2006
Is there a way to catch Nimiq1+Nimiq2+T5 (82 91, 97 degree) on ONE dish? If so which dish and more importantly which lnbs & switches (considering the T5 need a 10750 and Nimiqs 11250 Mhz).

The home owner association where I live only allows 1 satellite dish installation - I like to make the most of it.

Any reply would be greatly appreciated.

The FTA channels available on these satellites. (some radio, some foreign, etc...)

Do you have a subscription to ExpressVu? There really isnt anything free on Nimiq2 but NImiq1 does have some radio stations

If you want a one dish solution....

A nice eliptical dish would work. If you can find a old Primestar dish or maybe a starchoice dish.

I have a Channelmaster 76cm elip that I've set up in the past with 82, 91, 101, 110, and 119. They were all circular sats, which are much easier to pull. I only used the 101 slot for aiming. Since I don't have either provider anymore, I just use it to play around with now.

I was using it recently for the 97 sat. Granted it was a very ghetto setup (dish pointed out a open window in the guest bed rm; leaning against the bed). Max signal i got with my Classic NA was around 58-62. That was with the lnb in dead center.

In your setup, you will need to point to the 91 so you may need a bigger dish than what I used to get the 97. (hence the starchoice/primestar suggestion). If you go this route, I'd get a invacom QPH-301 so you can get channels off G11) A standard KU Lnb for 97 and a reg Circular lnb for 82

HOA can't limit # of dishes. They can only limit dish size (1m max in 48 states; AK is different)

Last edited:
Iceberg said:
oh by the way...that is illegal. The HOA CANNOT restrict you to one dish. My HOA tried that and I have 6 of them :) The FCC says you can put up as many as you need to receive programming

http://www.fcc.gov/mb/facts/otard.html