1. SatelliteGuys will be OFFLINE for a portion of Saturday!

    Due to system upgrades, SatelliteGuys will be offline for part of Saturday beginning Saturday Morning! While we are offline you will see error messages saying the site is unreachable, this is to be expected! We will be back online as soon as possible! Thank you for your understanding and patience!

    Thanks for being part of SatelliteGuys!
    CLICK THE X IN THE TOP RIGHT CORNER OF THE BOX TO DISMISS THIS MESSAGE
    Dismiss Notice

No NBC or MNT in Austin Market...

Discussion in 'DIRECTV Support Forum' started by TheTechGuru, Jul 4, 2019.

  1. TheTechGuru

    TheTechGuru Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Posts:
    1,455
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Texas
    [​IMG]

    Right on a holiday! How am I supposed to watch the Macy's 4th now? I can't go put a OTA tower up in this short amount of time. How f****** inconsiderate.

    I guess I need to "move" back to the San Antonio market. I never lost a major network in 6 years there.
     
  2. dramirez

    dramirez Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Posts:
    20
    Likes Received:
    1
    I feel your pain man, same here in Mcallen... damn disputes with Nexstar..
     
  3. jamieh1

    jamieh1 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2004
    Posts:
    366
    Likes Received:
    41
    Location:
    Greenville Washington New Bern, NC
    Same here in Greenville Washington New Bern NC market
    WNCT CBS
    WNCT2 CW
    Gone with out notice, in past we got scrolls on local station saying could lose. Not seen anything.
    Good thing I’ve got Local channel connector so can still get over the air.
     
  4. hancox

    hancox Pub Member / UConnaholic
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2003
    Posts:
    3,559
    Likes Received:
    41
    Location:
    Monroe, CT
    Same in Hartford/New Haven with ABC affiliate.

    Agreed, too - this one didn't get much attention on either side.

    As always, it's probably LIN's, er, Nexstar's fault.
     
  5. trido

    trido Supporting Founder
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2004
    Posts:
    418
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Southern indiana
    Same WEHT ABC Evansville,IN
     
  6. TheTechGuru

    TheTechGuru Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Posts:
    1,455
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Texas
    They changed it up a little...

    [​IMG]

    I normally almost never watch NBC and then this happens on the one day a holiday show is going to be on NBC. I guess I'll just watch Capital 4th on PBS...
     
  7. The Fat Man

    The Fat Man Poster of Randomness
    Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Posts:
    6,652
    Likes Received:
    4,614
    Location:
    Land where we pronounce our "R" as "ah"
    Are you too far for an indoor antenna to work? That can be set up fast.
     
  8. bobvick

    bobvick Pub Member / Supporter
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    Posts:
    4,367
    Likes Received:
    2,101
    Location:
    Northwest Alabama
    And they’re (Nexstar) trying to acquire Tribune. I WIAT CBS Birmingham out too.
     
  9. Darrell S

    Darrell S SatelliteGuys Pro
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Posts:
    1,196
    Likes Received:
    255
    Location:
    Parts Unknown
    I just got a courtesy credit of 10.00 by clicking on the link at the bottom of the tvpromise.com site. Click where it says check your account status by signing into your account. As of now it just says courtesy credit charge 0.00 on my bill, we will see if the 10 bucks shows up.
    Update the credit just showed up on my bill. It says 1 month dispute credit.
     
  10. ncted

    ncted SatelliteGuys Pro
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Posts:
    3,994
    Likes Received:
    2,543
    Location:
    Durham, NC
    WNCN here is down too. I don't have DirecTV, but the scroll says they are off Uverse as well.
     
  11. rad

    rad Supporting Founder
    Supporting Founder Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Posts:
    9,070
    Likes Received:
    1,932
    Location:
    Dripping Springs, TX
    Glad I have a Tablo so I can still DVR while KXAN is playing games. If I were DIRECTV I'd try to force KXAN to supply a fiber feed to their LRF due to all the outages KXAN transmitter has. If we're paying for their signal then they should deliver one. I chatted with AT&T this morning to see if I can get the elusive local channel connector. They placed the order but not expecting much since I have a GENIE 2 and last I heard their computer would only process orders for the HR44/HR54.
     
  12. Howard Simmons

    Howard Simmons SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2018
    Posts:
    287
    Likes Received:
    201
    Location:
    Northwest Florida
    If
    If you have You Tube TV on your tv apps sign up for the free preview. They are the only one's that have the networks. Then cancel after the preview. Hopefully you have good internet speeds.
     
  13. dishrich

    dishrich SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    Posts:
    3,248
    Likes Received:
    303
    Location:
    Springfield, IL
    They're off both platforms...we lost our CBS & MNTV locals...
     
  14. jdspencer

    jdspencer SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2004
    Posts:
    4,078
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Binghamton, NY
    We lost Fox a couple of weeks ago and now ABC and NBC. :(
    Unfortunately, my OTA is currently out of commission, so I'll have to go with on demand or the internet for some shows. It's good that the networks are in rerun time.
     
  15. rad

    rad Supporting Founder
    Supporting Founder Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Posts:
    9,070
    Likes Received:
    1,932
    Location:
    Dripping Springs, TX
    Got the order e-mail, they ordered a DECA, not a LCC. Called back, since I have a HR54 no soup for you.
     
  16. ncted

    ncted SatelliteGuys Pro
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Posts:
    3,994
    Likes Received:
    2,543
    Location:
    Durham, NC
    The scroll on WNCN claims AT&T/DirecTV "abruptly removed the channel." That is total bull. It is always the station's decision.
     
  17. jdspencer

    jdspencer SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2004
    Posts:
    4,078
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Binghamton, NY
    It's the station's decision in as much as they refuse to pay DirecTV their excessive costs. :rolleyes

    Too bad, since they are cutting the revenue stream for those stations. It's a no win situation.
     
  18. ncted

    ncted SatelliteGuys Pro
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Posts:
    3,994
    Likes Received:
    2,543
    Location:
    Durham, NC
    Sorry, I don't follow. DirecTV pays the stations, not the other way around.
     
    dishrich likes this.
  19. jamieh1

    jamieh1 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2004
    Posts:
    366
    Likes Received:
    41
    Location:
    Greenville Washington New Bern, NC
    Same here WNCT Greenville has same message.
    This happened back when Media General owned these stations. Every provider in the area has had a outage with them.
     
  20. slice1900

    slice1900 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2015
    Posts:
    852
    Likes Received:
    330
    Location:
    IA
    Usually they try to time these before things people want to watch. The World Cup is getting some attention but hardly on the level of the Olympics, the start of football season, the Super Bowl or March Madness which is where contracts are usually timed to run out shortly before. So it is puzzling to see contracts expiring now when it will be nearly two months before Directv starts to get real pressure from customers.
     

Separate names with a comma.

More...