<noflame>Tell me V00m doesn't suck.</noflame>

juanl0b0

Well-Known SatelliteGuys Member
Original poster
Supporting Founder
Jun 21, 2004
:mad: One week of Voom in my house and I'm struggling to like it. I'm a technical professional that has to deal with groundless user complaints all the time, so I really willing to give a technology/service the benefit of the doubt, here's the sad details of my story, could someone tell me why I shouldn't toss their crap and go back to Dish Network?

Pre-sales: 3 Separate phone calls to Voom plus a trip to Sears to confirm the localls were delivered via Satellite. "You're sure, right, sure, not over the air right?!". DOH!

Install day: Installer shows up drops the bombshell about the locals, "go ahead an call them", (I did and that was pointless). He leaves behind the OTA antenna which I mount after confirming that the HOA forbids them. He doesn't leave behind all the parts to ( inline amp?) cuz Voom tuner seez nothing OTA on any channels, but the Tivo and TV by themselves tune in 3 of the 5 locals.

Days 2 - 4: Rain fade that actually merits all the ribbing by Cable company commericals. _Never_ had this problem with Dish.

Day 5: More rain fade, I for grins, check signal strength when weather clears- up and see 48 on the meter! WTF? I had 90 on Dish Net and I did the install myself? If the install wasn't free I'd ask for my money back.

Day 6: Started noticing that most permium channel HD versions are just mirroring the content on their SD twins. Is that supposed to make sense?

Day 7: Caught part of Die Hard with a Vengance in HD, and consider maybe the picture quality might someday be worth all this BS.

So here I sit, only three locals, no native PVR, unimpressed by their original programming, wondering why they need to do a "news story" about Yellowstone and Yosemite.

Could someone tell my why V00m doesn't suck? Any hints on my OTA problem would be cool too.