Noob has questions

• WELCOME TO THE NEW SERVER!

If you are seeing this you are on our new server WELCOME HOME!

While the new server is online Scott is still working on the backend including the cachine. But the site is usable while the work is being completes!

Thank you for your patience and again WELCOME HOME!

CLICK THE X IN THE TOP RIGHT CORNER OF THE BOX TO DISMISS THIS MESSAGE
Status
Please reply by conversation.

briansanders007

SatelliteGuys Pro
Original poster
Nov 24, 2003
ok I have been around FTA for a while, setup my system and all that fun stuff with a KU band. However, I have a couple questions. We moved into an area with great OTA reception so I want to ditch Directv finally however my son can't live with out Noggin so I want to pick up a package from some place like WebForm2.
I assume I need some type of cband or KU receiver that can get a card so I can pay and have it authorized? I'm new with cband stuff. I don't have any equipment other than my 36" fortec dish and a fortec star receiver for that. Would I need a 4DTV bo:mad:any box work that says it works with 4DTV)? Is that cband or can I use my ku lnb and dish? Sorry I really new at this type of stuff. I think I will just buy the channels I need and than combine them with my OTA so I can provide the channels the family watches. I'm just not sure what cband stuff to get.

Absolute minimum for C-Band will be 6 foot. You'd be better with 8 or 10'.
There are some exceptions with a lot of patience and work...
You should be able to nab a 8 or 10' aluminum mesh dish just for the taking. Most folks just 'want it gone'.
If you don't have a 4DTV receiver, you *may* want to check out SkyVision's W5 deal - it's a single bird subscription so you don't have to worry with a dish mover. They have a decent price on the receiver with that package.
If you want to go all-in, you'll want to locate a 922 receiver... and add 2 or 3 BUD's... but that's another story...