NPS -- no rehit

Status
Please reply by conversation.

Desertnight

SatelliteGuys Family
Original poster
Jan 12, 2009
Up in the sky, out of the way
The last time I did a master reset on my 922, I followed instructions about calling NPS for a rehit. I was told that they would not reset my clock unless I had programming with them or ordered programming. :rant:

I didn't need or want any programming. I spoke with two different people who both said the same thing. Did you know that their 200 Free channels you get with a subscription are just that? Free. What a come-on.

Isn't there anyone else out there who will just give a hit to reset the clock? Without having to purchase any programming?

Call them again and be really nice and calm. When I got a free 920 a few months ago I was able to sweet talk NPS into giving me a complementary hit to 'see if it worked' without having any subscription. Of course when I subscribed I went through them.

Years ago program providers would authorize the guide for free. This would turn on the U mode channels. Program providers are in the business of selling programming and don't have to give you freebee's so getting mad about it won't accomplish anything.

That said I have never had a problem with asking NPS to check if a decoder is good, so you can try that approach. Now take into account I have services and a track record with them. I don't know if that adds anything or not to getting things done. NPS does have some new policies that are strictly business which I don't care for, but it is what it is. The 4DTV is meant to be used for purchased programming.

You can also call SRL, I had them check a 410 I got for a client. If all else fails subscribe to an alacarte from SRL. One channel won't break the bank ;)