Ok...now I am a little concerned

Status
Please reply by conversation.

MikeinNY

Original poster
Feb 24, 2008
Newbie here...

We have cable and are switching to cut our monthly bill. I signed up through the Verizon triple play and got a very good dvr package deal for the year

I read the articles on consumerreports (got a good review, esp picture quality), asked friends and coworkers, etc. and most people I spoke with were happy (mentioned brief signal losses once in a while) with Direct. So I ordered Directv last week and the installer is coming tomorrow (8am-12). Previous owners had Direct and the dish is still on my roof. I guess they will just attach the new dish to the existing mount.

Then I started reading people's reviews on the forums, etc.....now I am a little concerned.

So for Directv, is the picture that bad? Will be viewing SD since I don't have an HDTV.

Thanks

Picture depends on how picky you are. It is compressed, and sometimes you'll notice a little blurriness, but not significant. It looks fine to me on my SD tvs. If you want to see it in action before your install, go to bestbuy/circuit city, they usually have a live box you can try. It will probally be on an HDTV, but you can tune it to an SD channel. Remember that SD will look bad on an HDTV by nature, but will look better on your SD set.

I think it is very comparable to when I had Dish Network, and way back when I had cable.

What you will like about Directv - OPTIONS - they carry practically everything :)

I had a 32 inch vizio lcd tv and a samsung 19 inch crt and both sd and hd programing. The sd on the hd set is soft but watchable through the hdmi conection, the hd is good to great depending on the channel provider ( IE tnt, tbs, discovery. ) SD on the crt looks normal to me and I cant complain about it, the connection is rg-6 coax and works fine for audio as well.

Right now Im watching ID4 on encore wam in sd on the vizio and its what I would expect on a large crt set.