Orthomode Chaparral feedhorn setup?

• WELCOME TO THE NEW SERVER!

If you are seeing this you are on our new server WELCOME HOME!

While the new server is online Scott is still working on the backend including the cachine. But the site is usable while the work is being completes!

Thank you for your patience and again WELCOME HOME!

CLICK THE X IN THE TOP RIGHT CORNER OF THE BOX TO DISMISS THIS MESSAGE
Status
Please reply by conversation.

skipticum

SatelliteGuys Family
Original poster
Dec 14, 2009
ottawa
Recently I acquired for free two 7.6’ unimesh dishes with actuators and orthomode Chaparral feeds with mini mag LNBs (two LNBs one for V and the other for H C-band, no Ku). This is my first time to try to setup a C-band system (I’m very experienced with Ku setup), and I’ve been reading this forum for information and recommendations. I need help regarding connecting the two separate V and H lines from the Chaparral feed to my Digital receivers. I’ve been reading about how to use multi-switches with power insertion (for the 13 volt side), but at the moment I do not want to acquire a multi-switch until I’m sure my setup works. Therefore, I figured directly connecting the H coax line from the feed to one digital receiver, and the V coax line to another digital receiver (with added power inserter to boost the voltage to 18). This would be a temporary setup until I gain experience with the C-band setup. Would this setup work? Any advice? Thanks.

no power inserter required

If you set both receivers to H, they'll both put out 18 volts.
One will get the actual Horizontal signals.
The other will get the Vertical transponders 'cause it's hooked to the Vert LNB.

Also, check the Classified Department.
Stogie5150 may have a modified Multiswitch all ready to go.
Don't know if he sold all his or not.

Come to think of it, Linuxman is selling some hardware, and I know he had several, too.

If you set both receivers to H, they'll both put out 18 volts.