OTA Antenna Advice ?

• WELCOME TO THE NEW SERVER!

If you are seeing this you are on our new server WELCOME HOME!

While the new server is online Scott is still working on the backend including the cachine. But the site is usable while the work is being completes!

Thank you for your patience and again WELCOME HOME!

CLICK THE X IN THE TOP RIGHT CORNER OF THE BOX TO DISMISS THIS MESSAGE

Ozzzz666

Original poster
Sep 10, 2007
Below is what antenna web says about my location. I am a newbie at this and spent a small sum of $ on an indoor HD antenna and got a pretty good signal on NBC, FOX and PBS but couldnt for the life of me get my dishnetwork receiver to find ABC or CBS.

Is the 46 degree spread going to be my biggest hurdle in getting OTA HDTV ? and if so can someone give me advice on an antenna ? I would like to put it in the attic if at all possible (tile roof, not much metal up there) as my receivers are on the 2nd floor and running cable would be easy.

As you can i am really close to the transmitters, i am at the bottom of the mountain they are located on so i dont think distance is going to be an issue unless you can be too close.

TIA for any advice.

Antenna

Compass Miles Frequency Type Call Sign Channel Network City State
Orientation From Assignment yellow - uhf KBLR-DT 40.1 TEL PARADISE NV
133° 1.4 40 yellow - vhf KLVX-DT 10.1 PBS LAS VEGAS NV
138° 1.6 11 yellow - vhf KVBC-DT 3.1 NBC LAS VEGAS NV
135° 1.5 2 red - vhf KLAS-DT 8.1 CBS LAS VEGAS NV
179° 5.8 7 blue - vhf KTNV-DT 13.1 ABC LAS VEGAS NV
179° 5.8 12 blue - vhf KVVU-DT 5.1 FOX Henderson / Las Vegas NV
136° 2.1 9

even though the big 5 are showing as VHF signals ? or can UHF antenna pick up VHF without a problem ?

If ia m reading that correctly you even havea channel 2 that you would like to receive. While i sometimes advoate trying a UHF antenna for digital VHF that might bea stretch. You might need either two antenna or a good VHF/UHF antenna.