OTA channels loss with signal loss

Discussion in 'DISH Network Support Forum' started by sasmith, Sep 19, 2019.

  1. sasmith

    sasmith Topic Starter Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Posts:
    21
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    gulf coast, tx
    Trying to understand why my local channels disappear during signal loss from heavy rain. I'm using the 2 tuner OTA module.

    I'm in the Houston area watching all the flooding going on.

    Scott
     
  2. TheKrell

    TheKrell A mighty and noble race originating on Altair IV. Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Posts:
    25,155
    Likes Received:
    17,953
    Location:
    Fairfax, VA
    Are your coax fittings waterproof?
     
  3. sasmith

    sasmith Topic Starter Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Posts:
    21
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    gulf coast, tx
    Yes, sort of, all the wiring is in the house. Antenna is in the attic.
     
  4. Ypsiguy

    Ypsiguy SatelliteGuys Guru

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2019
    Posts:
    146
    Likes Received:
    104
    Location:
    Ypsilanti, MI
    I receive my OTA signals on a ViewTV AT-163 DTV converter box. Don't hafta deal with the OTA funkiness during rain fade on the Dish receiver anymore. To me, it is important to keep my OTA signals as long as possible during bad weather.

    Also you can connect a USB thumb drive to the AT-163 and DVR to it. The box writes the DVR files into common MPEG-4 AVC (*.m4v) files that can be played just about anywhere you connect the thumb drive.

    Just food for thought and stay safe down there.
     
  5. crodrules

    crodrules The Happy Pessimist

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2014
    Posts:
    4,571
    Likes Received:
    3,383
    Location:
    North Central Ohio
    Is it the 2-tuner OTA module for a ViP k-series receiver, or one of the 2-tuner USB adapters for a Hopper/Wally receiver? When you say the local channels disappear, are you getting an Error message on screen, or do they disappear from the Guide completely?
     
  6. sam_gordon

    sam_gordon SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Posts:
    1,918
    Likes Received:
    770
    Location:
    Lexington, ky
    And are you sure it's the OTA channels disappearing? Any chance you're still looking at sat delivered locals?
     
    TheKrell, crodrules and charlesrshell like this.
  7. sasmith

    sasmith Topic Starter Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Posts:
    21
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    gulf coast, tx
    To clarify, I'm using the usb 2-tuner AirTV adapter. I do not subscribe to locals just OTA with attic antenna.

    Was able to simulate the "Compete Signal Loss" message by disconnecting the cable. I can use the guide to see and select the local channels "OTA-HD" but still not able to view. Can also use DVR.
     
    crodrules likes this.
  8. crodrules

    crodrules The Happy Pessimist

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2014
    Posts:
    4,571
    Likes Received:
    3,383
    Location:
    North Central Ohio
    Thanks for clarifying. This sounds a lot like an issue I have been seeing on my Wally, where when the satellite signal is lost, the OTA channel will keep playing in the background, but the center of the screen is covered by a large Signal Loss pop-up. This issue has been reported to Dish, and they should be working on a fix for it.
     
    JSheridan and TheKrell like this.
  9. TomT127

    TomT127 SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Posts:
    93
    Likes Received:
    39
    Location:
    Sugar Land, TX
    Scott. I experience some signal lost for a while watching channel 2 yesterday but only channel 2. The experienced the same signal loss on 2 over the sat feed (they still haven't disconnected it). The others were fine. I have the outdoor antenna actually siting on a cabinet top indoors.
     
  10. rvvaquero

    rvvaquero SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2012
    Posts:
    1,784
    Likes Received:
    2,030
    Location:
    Wanderer
    I have that problem on my Wally also. When it happens, I can push the "Live TV" button and the message will go away. I use a Harmony remote, I don't know which button is the "Live TV" button on DISH remotes.
     
  11. crodrules

    crodrules The Happy Pessimist

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2014
    Posts:
    4,571
    Likes Received:
    3,383
    Location:
    North Central Ohio
    Press and hold the Back button on 54.0 remotes. I will try that the next time it happens. Thanks for the tip!
     
    charlesrshell likes this.
  12. Bruno

    Bruno SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    Posts:
    409
    Likes Received:
    92
    I also have that problem with my VIP receivers. I split my OTA signal and take it to both the TV and Dish receiver. I switch over to the TV tuner when the tornados are coming.
     
  13. Ypsiguy

    Ypsiguy SatelliteGuys Guru

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2019
    Posts:
    146
    Likes Received:
    104
    Location:
    Ypsilanti, MI
    I got tired of it on my Dish receivers. I love now that I can record OTA in a common MPEG4 format, rather than a non-portable, encrypted one.
     
  14. TheKrell

    TheKrell A mighty and noble race originating on Altair IV. Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Posts:
    25,155
    Likes Received:
    17,953
    Location:
    Fairfax, VA
    I failed to notice this comment the first time you reported it. Are you saying that the AT-163 transcodes OTA MPEG2 broadcasts to MEG4?
     
  15. Ypsiguy

    Ypsiguy SatelliteGuys Guru

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2019
    Posts:
    146
    Likes Received:
    104
    Location:
    Ypsilanti, MI
    Yes it does. MPEG2 to MPEG4 AVC H.264 to be exact.

    Typical size of a 30 min 480i program is about 500MB.
     
    crodrules likes this.
  16. TheKrell

    TheKrell A mighty and noble race originating on Altair IV. Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Posts:
    25,155
    Likes Received:
    17,953
    Location:
    Fairfax, VA
    I'm surprised that a $35 device has the oomph to do that.

     
  17. Ypsiguy

    Ypsiguy SatelliteGuys Guru

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2019
    Posts:
    146
    Likes Received:
    104
    Location:
    Ypsilanti, MI
    ...and it does it quite well. Nice compact MPEG4 files, playable just about anywhere.

    I have one antenna attached to my TV and the channels I usually DVR are through another antenna attached to the AT-163. I plug a 128GB thumb drive into it so I can take the files with me easily.
     

Separate names with a comma.

More...