OTA reception

Chawver

Original poster
Oct 10, 2005
Ok.. Wow.. to much to fast I think...you all have me pretty well confused at this point :confused: ...so I have a few questions.. I am fairly new to all this.. I live in Southern Maryland.. the towers for my locals range between 40 to 50 miles from me..I do have tree's around my house, but do sit on top of a hill...I have D* and have the 811 reciever..Looking to get HD from the local networks.. I can get 4,7 sometimes, and 9 sometimes..have never been able to get 5..(90% of Redskins games are on 5 this year) most of the time when I do get the other channels I get a 60 to 62% signal strenght.. I have a Winegaurd HD9095 antenna and a AP4800 amp which sits on a two level house about 6 ft above the roof.. Any help to bring a better signal in and get Channel 5...

Charles

Do you have the antenna on a rotator? I have the same antenna and have found it to be very directional. It needs to be pointing directly at the transmitter antenna.

No I dont.. but even if I point it directly at 344 degrees which is the exact location from my roof.. I still get nothing....

Chawver, I am down in the Fredericksburg area and receive programming from the DC at 55+ miles using my Channel Master 4228 UHF antenna w/CM-7775 preamp. Everything comes is pretty well, but I must admit that WTTG-DT (FOX 5) can cause me a little grief at times. In my case it's not a big deal since I have a 2nd antenna that receives all the Richmond VA stations, so I'll just watch the game on FOX35 in the rare case I am having trouble.