Pansat 4500 opinions? Good for newbie?

Status
Please reply by conversation.
Haven't heard of anybody here mentioning that one yet, looked at the specs before. Standard definition receiver, don't know about their support but recently they did put out a bugfix for another one of their receivers after some complaints about the dolby sound. Pansat seems to have a good reputation here, several members have the 9200HD receiver.

Thanks--I'm just getting into this, and Dolby and HD aren't in the picture for me yet. Just want to tune in to some FTA Ku band satellites and watch what the average person doesn't usually see.

I don't know anything about the 4500. But I do have a 3500S and a 9200HD. If support for the 4500 is anything like 9200HD then forget it. The 9200 HD is really buggy it freezes a lot, mostly during scanning. Pansats response to me about the freezing issue is "You need a strong signal to prevent freezing" I would think 95% Signal and 99% Quality levels would be enough. :) I have had no issues with the 3500 S but it has no HD or built in PVR.

Starting out simple in this hobby makes lots of sense-there is lots of equipment available for future expansion, with more features like HD tuning, PVR functionality, etc. Haven't owned a Pansat yet, but have had several other brands. A good simple box to start out with is the Fortec Mercury II, name has changed to Fortec Dynamic but it's the same receiver. Traxis 3500 is also a good box for blind-scanning as the Fortec is, both will control a dish motor if you add a motor later. A standard def receiver shouldn't be much more than a hundred bucks if you buy brand new, the traxis is even less (and is one of the best at blind-scanning, very sensitive tuner). Used receivers on ebay or craigs list even less if you're up for a 'pig in the poke'.

looks like the new SD model for Pansat. I've owned many pansat units and they all are pretty good. Owned a 1500,2500,3500,5000,6000,9200

1500...basic model