PBS is not HD -- anyway to get around that?

free to air and 4DTV are two different things.
4DTV is subscription services
free to air is not

The whole "C-Band is ending" BS that NPS is spewing is easy...they are in bed with Charlie. They are the same people who run AAD (sobongo) and get a bounty for changing a C-Band customer to Dish...

C-Band is still going to be around after the end of the year as the other 2 main C-Band providers (SRL & Skyvision) are going to support C-Band after that

FTA will be around for years to come :) PBS is free to air..heck PBS just moved their master feeds (the ones on AMC21) about a year or so ago to that satellite.

So if someone wants to move to 4DTV then yes I'd be kinda hesitant. But someone who wants FTA has nothing to worry about :)

I'm new to all this, so you guys lost me with all the acronyms ;) I did some digging, and FTA = Free To Air, Charlie Ergen is founder of Dish, but what is BUD and NPS?

Also I didn't realize there was so much politics behind this, nor did I realize there was so much available via satellites for free. I can see how you guys make a hobby out of all this, but from what I'm reading in the forum is FTA going the way of shortwave radio (aka, dead)?

Sam

I'm new to all this, so you guys lost me with all the acronyms ;) I did some digging, and FTA = Free To Air, Charlie Ergen is founder of Dish, but what is BUD and NPS?

Also I didn't realize there was so much politics behind this, nor did I realize there was so much available via satellites for free. I can see how you guys make a hobby out of all this, but from what I'm reading in the forum is FTA going the way of shortwave radio (aka, dead)?

Sam

Oh! I know what BUD is! I know! It's Big Ugly Dish!!! I ask this too when I first join this forum...I believe StoneCold or IceBerg that gave me the answer. I have to pass on NPS, haven't learned that one yet.

Ghpr13:)

Last edited: