Perplexed by DirectTV 775, shouldn't be this hard!!!

Status
Please reply by conversation.

adashjr

Original poster
Apr 3, 2014
Washington, NJ
I'll be quick and succinct, promise. My communications box (alarm, ethernet, modem, cable, and now Direct TV) has a line coming in from outside dish to 4 way splitter. Splitter shows basement #39. Guest bedroom 2, labeled #37, master labeled #35, and family room #34.

Basement #39, client removed, prob return to Direct TV, we moved that TV to master

Guest bedroom 2, #37, nothing whatsoever attached, but did previously have the Directtv router gizmo attached as my wireless router used to be in that room, but now, absolutely nothing is connected in #37.

Family room, #34, Genie, and the ethernet gizmo connected directly to router.

Master, #35, Client and 'SWM ODU' (I am an AMATEUR but absolutely confounded why this SWM ODU is in my bedroom, not in my basement com box)

My wife and I renovating Master, #35, has a 'client' AND 'SWM ODU' which I assume is Power Inserter? I am mounting tv to a different wall shared with master closet, #36 (When I designed the town home I had them install #36 and a receptacle in closet, long story)

At the 4 way splitter in basement com box, #37 is on the red line. Once again, there is NOTHING attached to #37 in the guest bedroom. I promise, LOL !!!
#35, #39, and #34 took up remaining 3 outputs on splitter.

(#36 my intended relocation, is connected to the 8 way splitter installed by alarm/home aud/vid co.)

Whenever we disconnect #35, master bed, we get error 775 downstairs. Understandable because of the power inserter?

But #37 is connected to redline on splitter, #35 has the PI. WHAT?!?!?!?!

Anyway, I figure this: If #35 master bed is connected to the 4 way splitter, why don't I just swap it out with #36, rendering #35 dead and #36 'alive'.

So, go down to the basement, swap them out, (still confused how #37 is on the redline), connect client and PI to #36 and of course error 775.