Phone Line / Modem Connection

shappey200

Original poster
Jul 28, 2004
Sorry for the infantile questions, but I am new to the whole dish network industry.

My question concerns the telephone / landline requirement. Dish Network claims that I must have a land line to use the dvr 522, or any other receiver.

What does the dvr 522 use the telephone connection for? Does it use this data connection to download its updates, to retrieve information about your receiver, or to merely transmit a PPV request? Furthermore, can I use my broadband connection for this "necessary" data transfer?

I do not currently have a landline and was not planning on installing one.

Do I need a landline? What kind of functionality will I loose by not having one?

By using your broadband connection, do you mean VOIP? I currently use Vonage phone service and it does work having the phone line plugged into the 522.

The land line is used for PPV I believe. I think they also track your usage as well. I know I get a $5 discount for having my 522 plugged into a phone line. I have heard people on these boards say that they can use Vonage. Do a search for Vonage and you should find what you're looking for.

The bottom line is the phone line isn't technically "required", but they may charge you a fee or something for not having it. Talk to their customer service for a complete answer.

I have my 522 going through Vonage. I had to tweak the quality settings on the Vonage box, and it only came up with the message saying it couldn't connect once.. But I can't remember if I was doing network mainenence right then..

I think the 522 is the ONLY one that needs the phone line, or it costs another 4.95 a month...with the other recievers, it's a good idea, but technically not required, I believe..