Pixelated image on tvs fed by Joeys

Discussion in 'DISH Network Support Forum' started by NABRIL, Dec 28, 2018.

  1. HipKat

    HipKat SatelliteGuys Pro
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2017
    Posts:
    4,337
    Likes Received:
    6,934
    Location:
    Pekin, IL
    I'm pretty sure that if Dish supplied it and installed it, they would warranty it
     
    charlesrshell likes this.
  2. Jim5506

    Jim5506 SatelliteGuys Master
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    Posts:
    6,440
    Likes Received:
    997
    Location:
    Lubbock, Texas
    Under warranty, they will replace one USB dongle that doesn't work properly with another one that doesn't work properly.
     
  3. NABRIL

    NABRIL Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2005
    Posts:
    155
    Likes Received:
    26
    An update with continued frustration.
    The tech came out and replaced the coax cable that goes from the dish to the Hopper since it was in bad shape and the outer jacket was slightly split. He replaces the Hopper and the usb-ota adapter; he replaced my existing dual tuner with another dual tuner.
    For a week, there was no pixelation, and we considered the matter resolved. But a few days later, it returned with pixel and sound loss.
    I escalated the issue to my Dish contact asking for a replacement of Joey's to see if that fixes it. As of lately, the pixelation happens very soon upon turning on the joey and tv and before any component could really get hot.

    What else can I try?
    IMG_20190127_214539.jpg
     

    Attached Files:

  4. HipKat

    HipKat SatelliteGuys Pro
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2017
    Posts:
    4,337
    Likes Received:
    6,934
    Location:
    Pekin, IL
    Did you change your OTA Adapter?? And I didn't see this asked, but while the Joeys are pixelating, unplug the OTA adapter from the Hopper and see if they clear up. I they do, then you know the problem
     
  5. NABRIL

    NABRIL Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2005
    Posts:
    155
    Likes Received:
    26
    Yes, he changed the ota adapter.
    If I do what you suggest won't I lose the signal immediately? On ota channels yea, but not on dish channels. Ok. I answered my own question
     
    HipKat likes this.
  6. HipKat

    HipKat SatelliteGuys Pro
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2017
    Posts:
    4,337
    Likes Received:
    6,934
    Location:
    Pekin, IL
    Is this the adapter he put in?

    s-l500.jpg

    Or this one?

    31uML0yf2pL.jpg
     
  7. NABRIL

    NABRIL Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2005
    Posts:
    155
    Likes Received:
    26
  8. JSheridan

    JSheridan Full Time Resident
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2008
    Posts:
    7,385
    Likes Received:
    6,797
    Location:
    USA
    Have they replaced the hub?
     
    charlesrshell likes this.
  9. NABRIL

    NABRIL Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2005
    Posts:
    155
    Likes Received:
    26
    what hub? My joeys aren't wireless, and yes, they replaced the Hopper.
     
  10. HipKat

    HipKat SatelliteGuys Pro
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2017
    Posts:
    4,337
    Likes Received:
    6,934
    Location:
    Pekin, IL
    He meant this

    203951_zoom.jpg
     
    JSheridan and charlesrshell like this.
  11. NABRIL

    NABRIL Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2005
    Posts:
    155
    Likes Received:
    26
  12. JSheridan

    JSheridan Full Time Resident
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2008
    Posts:
    7,385
    Likes Received:
    6,797
    Location:
    USA
    The Hub is what connects the Joeys to the Hopper.
     
    NABRIL and charlesrshell like this.
  13. NABRIL

    NABRIL Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2005
    Posts:
    155
    Likes Received:
    26
    Yup, got it. Should he have replaced that?
     
    charlesrshell likes this.
  14. JSheridan

    JSheridan Full Time Resident
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2008
    Posts:
    7,385
    Likes Received:
    6,797
    Location:
    USA
    Yes, I would have. I would also thoroughly check all the connections at the Hub.
     
    HipKat, NABRIL and charlesrshell like this.
  15. osumike

    osumike SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2012
    Posts:
    580
    Likes Received:
    85
    Location:
    On a roof
    There's definitely something going on with this.. There's multiple posts on the tech forum about the same thing. No fix yet from what I can see, and I haven't ran into it yet in the field..

    Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using the SatelliteGuys app!
     
    NABRIL likes this.
  16. NABRIL

    NABRIL Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2005
    Posts:
    155
    Likes Received:
    26
    Thank you. Yes, I've seen other posts about this, and I hope that Dish can address it somehow. It would be good to know if the other cases involve a powered OTA antenna. I have a gigantic 1980s antenna in the attic that I will connect at some point; however, using it requires the OTA dongle, which could be the culprit of all of this. But, by eliminating a powered-antenna, perhaps the issue gets better??? The technician that came out the second time was fairly cooperative and knowledgeable, and he mentioned that the fact that my OTA antenna is powered, that adds additional heat to the overall scheme (dongle, motherboard of the hopper, etc). I will try to disconnect the power adapter form my current Telstar OTA antenna to see if that makes a difference with the pixelation.
     
  17. HipKat

    HipKat SatelliteGuys Pro
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2017
    Posts:
    4,337
    Likes Received:
    6,934
    Location:
    Pekin, IL
    The ones on the tech forum are not focused on Systems with OTA Antennas, but instead are just on Joeys, in general
     
    NABRIL likes this.

Separate names with a comma.

More...