Please help a newbie

Status
Please reply by conversation.

DanaD1

Original poster
Sep 15, 2012
Louisiana
I am a DirectTV newbie with no chance of ever getting cable at this new address. My experience so far with Directtv has been less than desirable and I am so fed up. I have had 2 different technicians come out to set up a DVR with whole home (or whatever it is called) and still have NO DVR!!

This home had Directtv service previously........the house was vacant when we purchased it so I do not know how things were set up but this is what I have been told. There are 4 lines coming out of the dish in the attic and 5 working outlets. The living room has two coaxial lines but one is not active. I cannot have a DVR because it takes 2 lines and we currently only have 1 working line for each tv. The 1st tech was for the initial install and said he could not find where the lines went once they reached a certain point and did not know if there was a switch(?) so he could not do anything. I insisted that he at least get the tv's working and he reluctantly did that for us. The 2nd guy that came out here was determined that he would help us get a DVR but in the end he left without being able to do it..... This time he and my husband pulled all the flooring up in the attic trying to locate this switch. Apparently there is no switch. He determined that there must not be a switch and that since there are 4 lines coming in and 5 receiver connections there must be a splitter somewhere. He said that is there was a splitter then we would not be able to cut the lines to add the switch because then we risk messing up what we have.... such as only getting even or odd channels on the tvs that must be split.

I went out and bought a Tivo thinking I would solve my own problem but it was not compatible with satellite. :(