Potential ex cable sub looking for help.

BobHelms

Original poster
Aug 28, 2007
Cary, NC
Hi all;
I'm a newbie here, been reading posts for a while now and I'm looking for some opinions and some information please. Once all the new sub deals like 4 free months of 'whatever', and 12 month reduced rates are history is E* still a better choice than cable? I'm just fed up with the CS you get from TWC, no matter what your problem is their arrogance always shows. I'm about ready to pull the trigger on a E* solution mainly because of the candid post I've read here. I going to do my own cable burying as the installers I've talked to are quite clear when it comes to putting 200 feet of it in the ground. Frankly that's OK, I know what the rules are up front. I'm having a hard time finding 3 GHz dual RG6 with the messenger ground on the web. Who knows I might want to switch to D* one day. Can anyone point me to a good site that sells it by the foot. I don't need to buy a 500' or 1000' spool. Also for those veterans who have burying experience, how deep does it really need to be? I live in central NC where hard red clay soil is the norm. TIA for the help!:)

Here are two solutions:

PVRG6DUAL RG6 500' coaxial cable UL

You don't have to use messenger cable with a ground wire on it. If you want to ground.... you can ground with ordinary 10-12 gauge copper wire. Attach one end to the Dish, and the other to the ground source. Just as good (if not better) than what Dish does.

OR

80-TD660-2U-BS VEXTRA DUAL RG6 60% 2GHz UL BLSP 500'

The Vextra has no attached ground wire... the Perfect Vision is only swept tested 2200 mhz. You don't have to have 3ghz cable... it is just the recommendation so that there is some overhead built into the cable.... satellite signal only needs up to 2150mhz to operate perfectly.