PREWIRE (Yes I searched first, But none of the topics directly answered my question)

• WELCOME TO THE NEW SERVER!

If you are seeing this you are on our new server WELCOME HOME!

While the new server is online Scott is still working on the backend including the cachine. But the site is usable while the work is being completes!

Thank you for your patience and again WELCOME HOME!

CLICK THE X IN THE TOP RIGHT CORNER OF THE BOX TO DISMISS THIS MESSAGE
Status
Please reply by conversation.

unionbro

Original poster
Feb 10, 2008
Hi, I recently made an order for D*Tv. An installer is scheduled to be here in the A.M. next monday 11/25/08. After reading several post on D*tv installers being underpaid and in a hurry etc. I would like to prewire my system to avoid having a poor install.

For the record, I am a Journeyman Electrician, before some of you go to beating me up, please understand I lack working knowledge when it comes to DBS satellite systems, which leads me to this forum and here today asking you all what i should do.

First, let me describe my system i have coming. I will have recievers in two locations, one will have DVR, and one will not. I do however want to install the cables to each location as if both will have DVR to future proof my install.

I currently have a network enclosure installed in a central location that currently has a conventional cable tv distribution system as well as provisions for an OTA antenna. I want to leave this system intact and not utilize it for anything but OTA HD antenna and/or CCTV at a later date. There are drops from the central location serving each room in the house at this time.

Now with this being said i also just happen to have 6000' of RG6 cable that is 3 ghz sweep certified.