Problem pointing to AMC4, again (!)

Status
Please reply by conversation.

markchadwick

Active SatelliteGuys Member
Original poster
Jun 30, 2006
I know, I know, I had this issue last time, but with help from Iceberg and a few others, I was able to point it successfully, no prob.
Now I have another dish, a Fortec 90cm with a Finepass receiver and a universal LNB. Still trying to point at AMC4, this time from a different house in a south suburb of Chicago. So now that I was able to do it once, I think I'm an expert.
So I dial in my settings, approximately 200 for azi, 40 for ele, and 14 for skew (almost the same as my previous setup). Only this Fortec and LNB have no skew settings on the dish! (the other dish I had had degree markers on the LNB mount, making it easy to set the skew)
So I guesstimate as best I can but no luck, 0% signal quality. Even many multiple attempts do nothing.
Could it possibly be the skew?
I made sure the receiver was set to universal LNB to match the LNB on the dish, made sure the pole mount was level, made sure the cable connections were good, azimuth and elevation were as good as I could make them.
I'm going out there this weekend again to try pointing it again, any advice would be much appreciated.

Did you set the receiver to a strong transponder like 3ABN, 11822 / H / 5700. The receiver must be on an active transponder in order to locate and tune the satellite.

The LNBF rotation is critical, but set the rotation in an approximate position to find the satellite, but then fine tune the rotation as you peak the dish aiming for maximum Quality readings.

Here is a aiming calculator that you might find useful: http://www.geosatfinder.com

Oh yeah, I learned that lesson (pointing at a strong transponder) from Iceberg a couple months ago.
I thought I was approximating 14 degrees skew during my attempts, but I'll give it another go. Try try again, that's the old saying.

success!