GEOSATpro Problem with Spitfire Elite LNB

ihenry

Well-Known SatelliteGuys Member
Original poster
Oct 11, 2012
Aberfoyle, ON, CA
I am a returning newbie. I have just replaced my old (pre 2005) LNB with a Spitfire Elite which I bought with my new microHD. The old LNB seemed to work just fine with the microHD, particularly when fine tuning the satellites with the rotator. The Spitfire works well at first when changing satellites, showing the signal (90) and quality (74). However when I jog the motor, the signal drops to 45 and the quality goes to 0, indicating no satellite. If I jog back and forth the signal does not return. However if I go to reference or another satellite and then back to the original satellite the signal returns. My old LNB has no trouble with maintaining signal and quality indicators while I jog back and forth to find the sweet spot for the satellite. Would this be a Spitfire defect or perhaps moisture in my coax connectors? Interaction between the motor and LNB? Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks and cheers, iHenry

I am a returning newbie. I have just replaced my old (pre 2005) LNB with a Spitfire Elite which I bought with my new microHD. The old LNB seemed to work just fine with the microHD, particularly when fine tuning the satellites with the rotator. The Spitfire works well at first when changing satellites, showing the signal (90) and quality (74). However when I jog the motor, the signal drops to 45 and the quality goes to 0, indicating no satellite. If I jog back and forth the signal does not return. However if I go to reference or another satellite and then back to the original satellite the signal returns. My old LNB has no trouble with maintaining signal and quality indicators while I jog back and forth to find the sweet spot for the satellite. Would this be a Spitfire defect or perhaps moisture in my coax connectors? Interaction between the motor and LNB? Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks and cheers, iHenry