Problems with Polish programs on 97 W

Discussion in 'Free To Air (FTA) Discussion' started by polgyver, Jan 2, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. polgyver

    polgyver Topic Starter Creative Tinkerer

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Posts:
    441
    Likes Received:
    264
    Location:
    Toronto
    A few months ago, there were some Polish programs available on Galaxy 19, like TV TRWAM, TV Polonia, and Tele 5. About 2 months ago, TV Polonia and Tele5 became scrambled (similarly like Al Jazeera).
    I tried to contact TV Polonia asking, what should I do to receive their program, but they did not answer.
    TV TRWAM unexpectedly was transferred from 12184 transponder to 11960, without any previous warning, which brought an avalanche of telephone calls from my customers and friends, for whom I installed the dishes and provided receivers.
    The biggest problem now is the very bad video on most older receivers set to receive TV TRWAM on its new frequency. On many Captive Works receivers, the video is pixelating, picture is being held for a few seconds,
    then jumping to other picture. Nothing wrong with video of similar (11960 Hz) program; Press TV.
    The Quality is solid 65 %, where other transponders (Russia Today) show 55% and working OK.
    What should I do to repair this flaw? Should I tinker with transponder frequency, or, with TRWAM PID's,
    which are : V=787, A=1043, P=787 ? Now I hear that the audio is also breaking up and distorted.
    What's wrong with this particular TV and with older receivers? Has anyone experienced similar problems?
    Cheers, polgyver
     
  2. Titanium

    Titanium AI6US Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Posts:
    6,337
    Likes Received:
    6,520
    Location:
    Meadow Vista, Northern California
    After the pixelation clears, is the video displaying another channel (not TRWAM)? If so, video for which channel?
     
    polgyver likes this.
  3. Magic Static

    Magic Static FTA Geek Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU! Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Posts:
    6,735
    Likes Received:
    3,779
    Location:
    Montana
    You may look at re tuning the dish. 11960 Is used on 95w and 99w, albeit two Horizontal transponders and one circular right with close SRs.
     
    polgyver likes this.
  4. armadillo_115

    armadillo_115 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2015
    Posts:
    1,153
    Likes Received:
    845
    Location:
    Virginia
    Found this using Google translate. Maybe it is just a temporary glitch at the transmission site during the change over? IDK

    There are new reception parameters
    TRWAM TV and Radio Maryja:

    The new parameters are effective from 1 January 2017 year.

    Galaxy 19 at position 97.0 ° West
    Transponder Frequency: 11960 MHz,
    Polarization: vertical (V)
    FEC: 3/4
    Symbol Rate: 22000 ksymb / s,
    PID Video: 787
    Audio PID: 1043

    Audio PID: 1044 for Radio Maryja

    Modulation: DVB-S / QPSK

    Is changed the frequency and polarization.

    The old parameters
    (Valid until January 29, 2017 year.)

    Galaxy 19 at position 97.0 ° West
    Transponder Frequency: 12184 MHz,
    Polarization: horizontal (H)
    FEC: 3/4
    Symbol Rate: 22000 ksymb / s,
    PID Video: 787
    Audio PID: 1043
    Audio PID: 1044 for Radio Maryja
    Modulation: DVB-S / QPSK

    You should change the parameters of the satellite receiver
    and set up a satellite dish in position 97 ° West
     
    polgyver likes this.
  5. polgyver

    polgyver Topic Starter Creative Tinkerer

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Posts:
    441
    Likes Received:
    264
    Location:
    Toronto
    There is no interference from other satellites/transponders.
    2 Captive Works receivers and 3 Viewsat Ultra - all five of them show this lousy video.
    I have other, newer receivers, which we use presently - Freesat V7 HD, and other, no-name HD receiver, and they play perfectly well.
    Probably it is time to persuade my customers and friends to upgrade to HD receivers...
    armadillo, thanks for tech info.
    Cheers, polgyver
     
  6. armadillo_115

    armadillo_115 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2015
    Posts:
    1,153
    Likes Received:
    845
    Location:
    Virginia
    Polgyver, I finally had time to scan that transponder in and check it. All channels on 11960 working fine here using a 10 ft dish and LinkBox 9000i receiver. (Apples to oranges, I know)

    Maybe someone with a smaller dish can check it as well?
     
  7. Cham

    Cham VE4GLS Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Posts:
    2,155
    Likes Received:
    722
    Location:
    Boonies
    Using a 90cm dish here, getting 11.4-11.9 dB s/n. TRWAM plays fine using SmartDVB and TBS 6903 PCIe card. However the radio stream "Radia Maryja Radio" does glitch occasionally. Other channels in this TP seem to be playing fine as well. WIll try the Az Ultra on the same dish shortly...

    Checked the AzBox ultra, plays fine but radio channel glitches once in a while there too.

    This is the 11960 V 22000 3/4 DVBs transponder.
     
  8. Titanium

    Titanium AI6US Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Posts:
    6,337
    Likes Received:
    6,520
    Location:
    Meadow Vista, Northern California
    11960 TRWAM is fine in Northern California with a 90cm and microHD / Edision OS mini dual.
     
  9. Cham

    Cham VE4GLS Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Posts:
    2,155
    Likes Received:
    722
    Location:
    Boonies
    Interesting...
    :)
     
  10. jorgek

    jorgek SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2013
    Posts:
    1,182
    Likes Received:
    188
    Location:
    Near Toronto
    Radia Maryja Radio and TRWAM are fine here on the Openbox S9.
     
  11. jorgek

    jorgek SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2013
    Posts:
    1,182
    Likes Received:
    188
    Location:
    Near Toronto
    Hooked up my Viewsat Ultra, the video is freezing and pixalating on TRWAM.
     
  12. Conky

    Conky SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Posts:
    430
    Likes Received:
    54
    Location:
    SW Ontario
    did they increase the video bitrate?
     
  13. catamount

    catamount SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Posts:
    584
    Likes Received:
    132
    Location:
    maritimes
    Confirmed here as well with Viewsat platinum. TRWAM and TOHEED both freezing/pixels on that transponder. Conky could be right on the bitrate
     
  14. polgyver

    polgyver Topic Starter Creative Tinkerer

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Posts:
    441
    Likes Received:
    264
    Location:
    Toronto
    Looks like jorgek did the best test : confirmed that Openbox 59 (newer generation receiver) played TRWAM OK, but, the older generation receiver, Viewsat Ultra, failed to receive it properly.
    Too bad that I have no knowledge of the receiving process in receivers, and it puzzles me why Press TV, on the same transponder, can be received properly on older receivers, but TRWAM - not.
    Is there a memory involved, or PID numbers improper ? Maybe uplink data is corrupted?
    Or, like Conky suggests, video bitrate changed?
    Any explanation from forum members?
     
  15. Cham

    Cham VE4GLS Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Posts:
    2,155
    Likes Received:
    722
    Location:
    Boonies
    Video wouldn't be H264 (mpeg4)? Older receivers won't handle that compression.
     
  16. Keith Brannen

    Keith Brannen SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    Posts:
    1,553
    Likes Received:
    175
    Location:
    Southwestern Ontario
    Not H264 (checked on my AZBox), plus older receivers (like my Pansat 3500SD) would think it was a radio channel.

    Hooked my Pansat 3500SD up to the 97W LNB and saw the same as other older receivers, some freezing and pixelation (while other channels in the mux played fine).

    When put back on the AZBox Ultra it plays fine. However, when on the AZBox, one thing I did notice was that several times (but wasn't repeated later on when checking the channel) I did see several horizontal lines scroll up the screen that reminded me of older times when you would get electrical interference on your TV. Could be it was the video at the time, but it did get me to thinking that there might be numerous errors in the feed that the newer receivers (faster processors) can handle and correct, whereas the older receivers (slower processors) struggle with it and therefore freeze and pixelate. Just a thought, need someone who can examine the feed to check.
     
  17. catamount

    catamount SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Posts:
    584
    Likes Received:
    132
    Location:
    maritimes
    They may just need to tweak things after moving to the new transponder. Just hooked up my old cnx mini. No pixellation, but a very slight delay in movement. Hardly noticeable at the moment.

    Catamount
     
  18. jorgek

    jorgek SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2013
    Posts:
    1,182
    Likes Received:
    188
    Location:
    Near Toronto
    What did you tweak? So then is your Platinum OK as well?
     
  19. catamount

    catamount SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Posts:
    584
    Likes Received:
    132
    Location:
    maritimes
    I'll hook the platinum back up in a while . The mini was the "newest" old receiver I have. It was mostly showing still pictures of paintings earlier. Talk show on now, no audio problems but milliseconds delay when horizontal panning camera.

    No tweaks of any sort!
     
  20. catamount

    catamount SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Posts:
    584
    Likes Received:
    132
    Location:
    maritimes
    OK, hooked the platinum back up. Picture solid freeze for 6-7 seconds and pixellation is back. Terrible!! I know the viewsat specs say up to 15000 bitrate. Couldn't find bitrate info on Conaxsat. Possibly newer tuner is making the difference
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Separate names with a comma.

More...