Question about 522 remotes

Crazy Eyes

Original poster
Aug 7, 2004
I'm new to Dish and have a question about the 522. I just got an 811 and a 522 installed.

Due to previous wiring, they placed the 522 in my furnace room in the basement. Now, they assured me that both remotes for the 522 were UHF-pro remotes, but the manual says one remote is IR and one is UHF-pro. The install guy spent about 1 hr with the IR remote trying to get it to be a UHF-pro remote.

It's going to be a real pain if I have to go in my furnace room to change channels. LOL

Can anyone verify the status of the remotes? Are both UHF-pro?

After one hour of trying to make remote # 1 a UHF one, did they still assure that it is one ?? :) I have heard of people locating their receivers in a central location but maybe they use IR-repeaters to bounce the signal around their house to the 522.

I can't answer 100% -- doesn't the manual address the remotes and what each one is ?? -- but I thought one was IR (TV1) and one was UHF (TV2).

Yes, that's what I thought. I see nowhere in the manual how to setup remote #1 as a UHF remote. And I haven't been able to find anywhere online either.

:mad: This really peeves me if so, because not only did the installer lie to me but the owner of his company did as well.

I mean just put the 522 by a TV so I can use the stinking remote.

:mad:

Not a good sign for a two day user of DISH.

Wait for SimpleSimon, he knows :) I'm positive he's had some experience with installing one in a central spot. If not him, some other installer has.

Well, just got off the phone with DISH tech suppor and they said the #1 remote was only IR and I would have to buy another UHF-pro remote if the 522 was left in its current position. (Either that or go into my furnace room everytime I want to change the channel. lol)