Question about FTA install

Status
Please reply by conversation.

SA Holly Springs GA

SatelliteGuys Pro
Original poster
Sep 10, 2010
In the woods
1st. I know nothing about FTA rcvrs or how to install. I don't think I've ever seen one.(pretty sad I know) I install Direct for a living and i have a customer tomorrow morning that wants me to me to take a look at his setup. He purchased a FTA for 19 bucks and he has a big Ant on his house. The rcvr has never been hooked up.

Can anyone give me the basic setup for this? Any info will help. Sorry for the limited info.

I'm sure I can figure it out when I get there but I wanted to get a heads up 1st. I'm just not sure if it'll be piece of cake or hard as a rock.

All inquiries appreciated.

SA, Where does one start lol...Assuming it is a fixed system not a motorized setup, it depends on what sat they want to get? 97West has the most. Has to have the correct lnb..dish or direct lnb won't work...A 30" dish or a 36" is recommended as well. The signals on the FTA stuff are a lot weaker than the DBS stuff, as far as lining the dish up. It depends on what type of equipment is there, guess you won't know til you see it....good luck...Blind

He purchased a FTA for 19 bucks
Nice price if it's a decent receiver
and he has a big Ant on his house.
Do you mean a BUD, as in 6 to 10 ft dish?
To align the dish, the receiver needs to have a working transponder/SR, on the desired satellite, programmed into it. Is this a fixed, one satellite setup or a polar mount that tracks the arc. Is it for C band only, Ku band only, or both? For more detailed instructions, the receiver model, The LNB(s) model # and feed type, Or maybe it has an LNBF? Answering the above, and also the dish size and mount type will result in better answers.
To see what's available. and good transponder/SR's for aiming, check out SatelliteGuys.US_TheList - TheList