Question on Setup - New to Dish

• WELCOME TO THE NEW SERVER!

If you are seeing this you are on our new server WELCOME HOME!

While the new server is online Scott is still working on the backend including the cachine. But the site is usable while the work is being completes!

Thank you for your patience and again WELCOME HOME!

CLICK THE X IN THE TOP RIGHT CORNER OF THE BOX TO DISMISS THIS MESSAGE

Janel7710

Original poster
Oct 23, 2006
I have not yet made the switch to Dish, but am very close to doing so. I have a few questions and am hoping you can help. I am not extremely tech savvy, but I am not a total newbie either. My husband is quite handy and tech savvy, so I think if we need to do anything setup wise, my husband can set it up before the installer comes. Here goes.

We have 1 HDTV in the family room on the 1st floor
We have 1 SDTV in the Master Bedroom on the 2nd floor
We have 1 SDTV in the 3rd Bedroom on the 2nd floor

I cant decide if I should get 1 vip622 and use a splitter for the 3, or if I should get a vip622 and a 322. If I get the 622 and the 322 I have a question about what tvs can view the DVR'd content. If I record something on the 322 from the 3rd bedroom, can I view it in the family room on the 1st floor even though it is setup to use the 622? I just want to make sure if the 3rd bedroom is recording content, even if its in SD, that we can watch it in any room. If so, what equipment do I need to purchase that the installer won't already have?

Also, with all the lawsuit issues in the news, is making the move to DishNetwork from Cable TV an issue? Is it a "safe" move? I hope my question is clear and that some of you can offer me some assistance. Basically the bottom line is we want to be able to watch all the DVRd content on any of our TVs (I realize it would only be in HD if it was recorded on the 622 on a HD Signal). Thanks in advance for reading and offering help!

Janel7710: We have Dish and love it - the 622 is just super!