Question

Status
Please reply by conversation.

garn9173

SatelliteGuys Pro
Original poster
Jun 11, 2004
Ankeny, IA
My dishback back period has expired with Mediacom (thank God) and i'm a free agent of sorts. Qwest had an insert in the local paper this past Sunday that caught the attention of my wife and I, but first I had some questions regarding DirecTV that I hope you guys could answer for me:

Question #1 (sorry for the length, but wanted to set the question up):

Up until August of 2005, I was with Dish Network, both my wife and I were extremely pleased and satasified with the service. To make a very, very long story short, we were forced to give up our dish because it was not grounded and according to the subcontractor who was assisting me (Blue Sky Satellite), the only way the dish could be grounded was to have a major source of electricity close by, like a central air unit. Is this correct?

I own a townhome, the front faces the south and there are no major sources of electricity close by, like a central air unit (mine is on the back side of the house), that the dish could be grounded to.

Question #2:

Do DirecTV receivers need to be plugged into a phone line? What about the TiVO HDTV receivers, do they need to be plugged into a phone line?

Question #3:

At the present time, my wife and I do not have an HDTV, however, if we were to purchase one in the future, is there a charge for existing customers to upgrade to an HD receiver?

Thanks in advance.

Jason