Questions for a Newguy

• WELCOME TO THE NEW SERVER!

If you are seeing this you are on our new server WELCOME HOME!

While the new server is online Scott is still working on the backend including the cachine. But the site is usable while the work is being completes!

Thank you for your patience and again WELCOME HOME!

CLICK THE X IN THE TOP RIGHT CORNER OF THE BOX TO DISMISS THIS MESSAGE

joecap1946

SatelliteGuys Pro
Original poster
Nov 7, 2008
Wewahitcka, Florida
Hi gang,

To say I'm new to all of this would be an under statement.

Can you help me with some questions I have to as to better understand some of the lingo used on this site. I have 2 dishes, is one for 110 and 120. The other must be for HD on 61.5?

I have a 722 DVR receiver, you talk of smart cards, mine has a slot but no card.

I am assuming there are 3 satellites that we get signals from, 120, 110, and 61.5.

What is the Eastern Arc everyone is talking about. My locals are on 110 and the reception is awful, is that my local channels fault or dish.? I live in Panama City Florida, and I don't imagine it's a priority of dish to improve the signal. Also will this clear up when everyone goes digital in Feb.?

I get my CBS from distant networks, the Atlanta feed is ok, but the SF feed is really sharp. Does anyone think they may become HD down the road?

Are all HD channels on 61.5?

Finally I read of Dish at some point providing more HD content, I'm assuming thats what everyone is talking about. What is Voom and is this what we are waiting for?

I love the site, I think I'd appreciate it more if I understood some of the tech stuff.

Thanks in advance

Joe