Quick question on SES3...

Discussion in 'Free To Air (FTA) Discussion' started by Ypsiguy, Jul 5, 2019.

  1. Ypsiguy

    Ypsiguy Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2019
    Posts:
    58
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    Ypsilanti, MI
    I am going to start tinkering around with FTA Ku band. Is NHK World still on SES3? Lyngsat doesn’t show it, but ftalist says it’s there. Anyone know for sure?
     
  2. N5XZS

    N5XZS SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Posts:
    2,400
    Likes Received:
    606
    Location:
    Albuquerque, NM, USA
    Yes, NHK World is on SES-3 bird!:)
     
  3. Brct203

    Brct203 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2016
    Posts:
    846
    Likes Received:
    815
    Location:
    Connecticut
    is it just my impression, or did the bitrate of NHK go down significantly when it moved to its current transponder? The picture quality used to be great and now I find it very mediocre compared to what's on 58W.
     
  4. N5XZS

    N5XZS SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Posts:
    2,400
    Likes Received:
    606
    Location:
    Albuquerque, NM, USA
    They are running in 960x720p instead of 1280x720p video formats.:rolleyes:

    I presume they are using full1080i on C-band on 58W* bird?:)
     
  5. primestar31

    primestar31 SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Posts:
    8,162
    Likes Received:
    4,400
    Location:
    Beta Omicron Delta III
    1920 x 1080i on 58W for NHK World HD60 channel.
     
    N5XZS and comfortably_numb like this.
  6. Brct203

    Brct203 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2016
    Posts:
    846
    Likes Received:
    815
    Location:
    Connecticut
    true, but i'm referring to the ugly artifacts that we see on moving stuff, typical of a low-bandwidth stream, independently of the actual stream resolution. I don't remember seeing those on those channels when they were on the old frequency.

    Often, a SD channel with a decent bitrate looks better than a bit starved HD channel, unless the motion is slow or inexistant
     
  7. SkySurfer80

    SkySurfer80 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2019
    Posts:
    182
    Likes Received:
    117
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Is it one of the mux channels? I scan in 4 channels that say no name on the geosat that are 24/7. Not the nbc mux, but some sort of other mux titled no name.
     
  8. comfortably_numb

    comfortably_numb Dogs have owners, cats have staff Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Posts:
    7,313
    Likes Received:
    7,460
    Location:
    Missouri/Kansas
    These are on 12145 V 20000 and scan in as SERVICE_01 etc
     
    N5XZS likes this.
  9. Ypsiguy

    Ypsiguy Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2019
    Posts:
    58
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    Ypsilanti, MI
    Sounds like some of the OTA channels in my area. The SD subchannels multiplexed along with a 1080i main channel often artifact quite a bit. 6Mhz is pretty narrow.
     
  10. comfortably_numb

    comfortably_numb Dogs have owners, cats have staff Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Posts:
    7,313
    Likes Received:
    7,460
    Location:
    Missouri/Kansas
    Yep it adds up to about 19.3 mbps total bandwidth. Depending on what the .1 channel is, the subchannels can be offered quite a bit less bandwidth and thus be subject to more artifacts and poor PQ.
     
  11. Ypsiguy

    Ypsiguy Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2019
    Posts:
    58
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    Ypsilanti, MI
    Thx for the confirmation!
     
    N5XZS likes this.

Separate names with a comma.

More...