Rain fade issues in florida?

tim tim tim

SatelliteGuys Guru
Original poster
Jul 18, 2009
Tampa, Fl
I was an installer in salt lake city but recently moved here to tampa, fl. I know that with the snow up there people would lose signal obviously well i am hearing of alot of people losing signal here with the storms we get. Is this a common thing with a correctly set up dish (alligned properly etc) or am I most likely hearing this from people with poor signal strengths to begin with?

Also, I was told there is no DNS office in tampa or the surrounding area yet we have seen several DNS vans driving around. Anyone happen to know what office there coming from or if they possibly have remote techs out here?

I can't help you with the DNS offce, but I can tell you that here in Port Charlotte (about 1hr 10min South of you via I-75) I only get rain fade during the worst storms. I can count on one hand the number of times I've lost signal since I got Dish in September of 2006.

When those thunderheads roll in off the Gulf, they are loaded with rain. So yeah, you could say that rainfade seems to be worse in Florida. I've noticed that the 129 signal really takes a beating here, despite signal strengths in the 80's.

As far as those DNS vans you've been seeing, they are from the RSP that serves much of Florida: Digital Reception Services. Their headquarters is actually based in Tampa.

129, being so low on the horizon, is shooting through much more atmosphere than satellites to the south.

A lot more room for H2O attenuation of the microwaves.