Rain fade?

Status
Please reply by conversation.

cliffordmarc

SatelliteGuys Family
Original poster
Aug 3, 2004
Ok I am watching TV last night and my picture started to brake up. So I went outside for a smoke and well its raining out. I am new to D* is this going to happen every time it rains? what about snow my dish is on the roof am I going to loose a signal every time it snows?

Sounds like you need to get your dish re-pointed, it would have to be a HEAVY rainstorm to cause the above, snow should not be a problem unless it gets too deep and covers the bottom of the dish, the most common problem with snow is the heavy damp stuff, if that gets driven against your dish and sticks, you have had it, until it melts or you remove it, another reason to try to keep your dish as low as possible.

cliffordmarc said:
So I went outside for a smoke and well its raining out.

LOL...i took one look outside last night and thought, f it, i'm not smoking tonight. I'm in Md and we are getting pounded with rain by the storms coming up from Florida. The rain last night wasn't too hard, but pretty steady. All my meters were above 90. For me to lose signals, it has to be a torential (sp?) downpour, usually with lightening. As the previous post said, you probably need to check your alignment.

As for snow, my dish is mounted near the ground, but I've never had a problem with snow sticking to it. If it becomes a real problem for you, I think you can buy some sort of heating element, but I'm not sure.

rain fade is virtually NO issue....happens maybe twice per year to me, lasting anywhere from 15 secs to 1 minute....only in VERY heavy rain...and only for a very short time....snow is rarely an issue....had problems twice in 10 years, both times due to very wet snow that stuck to the vertical face of the dish...brush it off or wait till it melts...never had ANY problems, even during noreaster's here in connecticut

PSB said: