Random signal loss

Hi Ho

Active SatelliteGuys Member
Original poster
Nov 18, 2007
I've had my VIP722 DVR for about three weeks now. I am new to satellite. I have been very happy so far but for one slightly annoying issue. I get random signal breakup on HD channels. It is very annoying when I'm watching a show recorded from National Geographic or History Channel and they're talking about some interesting subject and the message, "Recording interrupted due to signal loss" pops up on the screen. :mad: The most I've lost was maybe 20 seconds but it's still quite aggrivating as it sometimes happens several times during a show. The problem happens when it's not raining and the skies are clear. The strange thing is that I went through a major storm that included very heavy snow and extremely heavy rain last weekend without losing signal once (except when I had to brush snow off the dish). Any suggestions?

If you are watching the 129 sat you will see lots of interrupted signals. The only answer is a bigger side sat dish either 24" or 30" to look at 129 or switch to 61.5 sat. Until they replace the 129 sat at the end of 2008 this will be a problem.

Here in the northwest I think 129 is my only choice. I'm getting a signal strength of 49 right now with overcast skies.

Any other receivers?

Is the 722 your only receiver? If not, try disconnecting the other one(s) from the switch for a short time. I recently started having a similar problem, then after a few weeks my son commented that his receiver was not working correctly. I swapped another in, and now the dropouts on the other receivers have cleared up. We had a bad receiver (301) that was taking the switch down periodically.