1. Another Team Summit in the books!

    Thanks to the generosity of a number of our members SatelliteGuys will be covering DISH Networks Team Summit Event from Phoenix, Arizona!

    CLICK HERE for our Team Summit 2019 Coverage!

    CLICK HERE to see our 2019 DISH Team Summit Recap Video! Thanks for being part of SatelliteGuys!
    CLICK THE X IN THE TOP RIGHT CORNER OF THE BOX TO DISMISS THIS MESSAGE
    Dismiss Notice

RCA 751R yagi outdoor antenna

Discussion in 'Over the Air TV By RabbitEars.Info' started by rabbitt83, Aug 29, 2018.

  1. rabbitt83

    rabbitt83 Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Posts:
    173
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    oak park michigan
    Hi my name is LARRY
    I live in hazel park mi am buying this rca antenna
    It picks up to 70 miles away
    There is a YouTube video
    Showing the install on YouTube
    This antenna should get me to watch Canadian tv I can get almost every local channel on my indoor antenna
    Except the Canadian locals my zip code is 48030 has anyone bought this antenna?



    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  2. comfortably_numb

    comfortably_numb Dogs have owners, cats have staff
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Posts:
    6,642
    Likes Received:
    6,569
    Location:
    Missouri/Kansas
    I have the ANT751R. It is a solid antenna. You will likely NOT receive stations 70 miles with this antenna away without a preamp, however.

    These are photos of my setup.

    IMG_0064.JPG IMG_0063.JPG IMG_0062.JPG
     
    charlesrshell and rabbitt83 like this.
  3. boba

    boba SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2003
    Posts:
    11,295
    Likes Received:
    989
    Location:
    Dorchester, TX.
    Using TVfool you have a lot of LOS signals with the poor directive capabilities of the 751 I would expect a lot of Co Channel interference. I would guess a range of about 40 miles without amplification.
     
  4. rabbitt83

    rabbitt83 Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Posts:
    173
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    oak park michigan
    I saw the install Vince Rocca did on
    YouTube and Windsor is 22 miles away so Canada should come in clear
    On my compass at south 167
    Amazon is shipping Friday I also bought 25 feet coaxial cable and
    Winegard LNA 200 preamp boost




    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  5. comfortably_numb

    comfortably_numb Dogs have owners, cats have staff
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Posts:
    6,642
    Likes Received:
    6,569
    Location:
    Missouri/Kansas
    Like boba said though, if you have a lot of LOS signals, you might not get the ones you say are 70 miles away. But who knows. OTA is an exercise in trial/error.
     
    andy_horton likes this.
  6. rabbitt83

    rabbitt83 Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Posts:
    173
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    oak park michigan
    TV Fool




    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  7. rabbitt83

    rabbitt83 Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Posts:
    173
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    oak park michigan
    The rca box said it picks up channels
    70 miles away I did not say that lol


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  8. comfortably_numb

    comfortably_numb Dogs have owners, cats have staff
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Posts:
    6,642
    Likes Received:
    6,569
    Location:
    Missouri/Kansas
    Just sayin', I have this antenna and 70 miles is a long shot...
     
    edisonprime likes this.
  9. boba

    boba SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2003
    Posts:
    11,295
    Likes Received:
    989
    Location:
    Dorchester, TX.
    Usually the disclaimer says " Up to 70 miles reception not a Guarantee of 70 miles"
     
    comfortably_numb likes this.
  10. rabbitt83

    rabbitt83 Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Posts:
    173
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    oak park michigan
    Lol
    This is the view
    The antenna will be installed by the window on the left on the roof
    Aimed south 167
    IMG_2460.JPG IMG_2466.JPG
    Or should I put it by the chimney
    Never done this before watched youtube videos on installs, I am 69”


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  11. boba

    boba SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2003
    Posts:
    11,295
    Likes Received:
    989
    Location:
    Dorchester, TX.
    I would lag screw it to the chimney. The corner should have a 2x4, use lag screws long enough to go into the 2x4. You also should be able to run the coaxial cable down the chimney inside the attic or outside. Mounting on the chimney won't put holes in your roof, and it should be as high as possible. Why are you aiming at 167 degrees that looks like you will be aiming the back of the antenna at most of the broadcast channels?
     
    comfortably_numb likes this.
  12. rabbitt83

    rabbitt83 Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Posts:
    173
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    oak park michigan
    167 is Windsor Canada
    Cbet 9 and a Detroit local


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  13. rabbitt83

    rabbitt83 Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Posts:
    173
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    oak park michigan
    167 is south and located
    Were the left window is located
    IMG_2465.JPG


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  14. rabbitt83

    rabbitt83 Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Posts:
    173
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    oak park michigan
    I was told I could get 64 channels
    Including 3 Canadian channels


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  15. Larry1

    Larry1 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,541
    Likes Received:
    82
    Location:
    Port Hope, ON Canada
    You also need to consider if there is anything in the line of sight to the towers. How far are any trees or other tall objects that may be in the way. In general, height is better for an antenna. (however this is not always true) Your TVFOOL shows a height of 30 feet. You are most likely less than 30 feet elevation. Your location shows 22 miles and line of sight, should be good.
    A gable mount also would do great if you want to mount it on the other end of the house. (google antenna gable mount for pictures)
     
    comfortably_numb likes this.
  16. harshness

    harshness SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    Posts:
    14,933
    Likes Received:
    1,987
    Location:
    Salem, OR
    The issue that transcends distance predictions is that most of your locals are west of you while the Canadian stations are NNW and ENE of you. Without a rotator, this is a problem that a Yagi typically can't deal with (unless it has a very wide beamwidth).

    As boba pointed out, you have a remarkably large number of co-channels (other stations broadcasting on the same frequencies) that you're being bombarded with. It may well be that you need multiple antennas and a switch or a rotator and that's inconvenient at best. This is where a very directional antenna may allow you to only pick up stations from a very narrow segment (narrow beamwidth).
     
    comfortably_numb likes this.
  17. rabbitt83

    rabbitt83 Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Posts:
    173
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    oak park michigan
    I have a indoor antenna
    I get 56 of 58 channels
    I’m buying the yagi just for the
    Canadian channels and the pre amp I watch Canadian tv that’s the only reason I am buying it if I can’t get Windsor cbet I will call amazon and return the antenna and pre amp


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  18. Jim5506

    Jim5506 SatelliteGuys Master
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    Posts:
    6,512
    Likes Received:
    1,079
    Location:
    Lubbock, Texas
    The stations to your west are close enough you might just pick them up off the side of the antenna.
     
  19. rabbitt83

    rabbitt83 Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Posts:
    173
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    oak park michigan
    The winegard pre amp is$37.00
    The yagi is $41.00 and 25 feet of coaxial to my tv is $6.00
    I think close to $100.00
    Just to watch CBC and ctv


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  20. Alexander Olar

    Alexander Olar SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2017
    Posts:
    450
    Likes Received:
    273
    Location:
    Macomb Michigan
    Larry, Just remember that CTV (CKCO-TV 42)is still broadcasting in NTSC analogue and their transmitter is in Sarnia ON. You won’t be able to get CTV and CBC with one antenna, you will need two antennas or a rotor because they are in complete opposite directions. You shouldn’t have any problems getting CTV either because they broadcast in analogue . IMG_0537.JPG

    Here’s my Antenna setup. The RadioShack is aimed South, to get most of my channels including CBC and TVO, And the Clearstream is aimed towards Sarnia to get CTV and Global (marginally)

    IMG_0128.JPG
     

Separate names with a comma.

More...