reception problems with Wash DC/Haggerstown MD locals

dfecarter

SatelliteGuys Pro
Original poster
Mar 14, 2006
Connecticut
I have a DIsh subscription and dish aimed at 119W and 110W and just moved to WASH DC, and yes I am well within the spotbeam. The problem is, of the 14 locals I'm supposed to be getting I am only able to receive 8 of them! And maybe it doesn't mean anything but the ones I can get in are the SD signals and all of the of actual WASH DC don't come in!
Can anyone tel me which Sats the dish needs to be aimed at to get the rest of the Wash DC stations. And the go get the HD channels.
The Dishchannel chart is saying I should be able to get in all of the SD versions of the chs., but that doesn't seem to be the case.
I may need to put up another seperate dish to tune in to 61.5 or 77 W sats.
Thanks!

We hereabouts are on EA for our locals. So you need to pick up 61.5 & 72. You MIGHT want 77 also, but probably not.

No need for or value from 110/119 anymore.

The Washington DC DMA, for HD customers, is Eastern Arc. You are not supposed to get a separate dish for 61.5 and 72.7, but rather get an upgrade an EA dish, and if necessary, another upgrade to HD receivers. Almost all channels on EA are mpeg-4, so SD receivers won't work.

Once you're converted to HD and EA, then you may notice there are no more SD locals when there is already an HD channel. I wish Dish would do this for ALL the SD duplicates!

Well I kind of want to keep a dish pointed to 119 so I can continue to receive a west coast feed through All American Directs but that may not be a prudent and cost efficient move. I do have an HD rec. VIP221 and do pull in a few HD channels but bery few and no locals.
So what is an EA dish?
And what if I just install another dish aimed at 61.5 , 72 or 77 and connect it to my other input on the original dish or use a switch box?