Remote not pairing to Hopper.

OSD771

SatelliteGuys Pro
Original poster
Feb 27, 2012
Pokey
Hey Guys, im new to the dish forum so be nice. :D
I had a hopper today that would not for the life of it pair to a remote. I got all the joeys and the other hopper to pair.

Here is what i tried so far-
Reset the receiver, tried Unpair remote by pressing Sat, holding Recall and 0, search, vol up, then Stop. I could not even get the remote to give me the 3 beeps saying it was unpaired.
Then i reset the receiver again, got a different remote and tried pairing it, unpairing it, repairing it.
Then i tried setting the hopper in IR mode, and that was not working at all.
I am thinking it is a bad box. I got some other advice saying to try reset the factory defaults but unfortuneatly could not try that yet. I will be trying it tomorrow.
Any other advice would be helpful! Thanks!

Hey Guys, im new to the dish forum so be nice. :D
I had a hopper today that would not for the life of it pair to a remote. I got all the joeys and the other hopper to pair.

Here is what i tried so far-
Reset the receiver, tried Unpair remote by pressing Sat, holding Recall and 0, search, vol up, then Stop. I could not even get the remote to give me the 3 beeps saying it was unpaired.

Try unpairing from the Hopper front panel controls
Then i reset the receiver again, got a different remote and tried pairing it, unpairing it, repairing it.
The remote needs to be very close to Hopper, presumably to avoid pairing to other Hoppers/Joeys. Try putting the remote on top of the Hopper before attempting pairing
Then i tried setting the hopper in IR mode, and that was not working at all.
The 40.0 and 32.0 remotes will not talk to Hopper or Joey (or any Dish receiver for that matter) via IR.

How does one unpair the hopper from the front panel? Going into the menu and system settings? I tried that. The hopper says that their are no remotes paired.
The remote was very close to the hopper.