Remove Joey from Account?

Discussion in 'DISH Network Support Forum' started by jontheophilus, Jul 25, 2013.

  1. jontheophilus

    jontheophilus Topic Starter Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2013
    Posts:
    18
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Indianapolis, IN
    I tried searching for this, but most threads seem related to canceling everything. Let's say I setup myself with 2 Hoppers and 2 Joey, can I remove one the of Joeys from my account and send it back to Dish? Say in the situation I find we can't justify the $7/month for a TV that's never watched.

    Thanks.
     
  2. boba

    boba SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2003
    Posts:
    11,295
    Likes Received:
    989
    Location:
    Dorchester, TX.
    Certainly they own it and your contract is for programming not receivers.
     
  3. Tampa8

    Tampa8 I'll Stand Up and Say So Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    Posts:
    17,415
    Likes Received:
    6,578
    Location:
    Tampa/Eastern Ct
  4. navychop

    navychop Member of the Month - July 2014! Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2005
    Posts:
    47,169
    Likes Received:
    12,170
    Location:
    Northern VA
    You're one simple phone call away from saving $7 a month.
     
    MikeD-C05 likes this.
  5. jontheophilus

    jontheophilus Topic Starter Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2013
    Posts:
    18
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Indianapolis, IN
  6. darrengs

    darrengs SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    May 13, 2012
    Posts:
    656
    Likes Received:
    199
    Location:
    NJ
    You can even take care of it via chat.
     
  7. ferl

    ferl SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Posts:
    66
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Troy, IL
    Sorry to dig up an old thread, but does the the outlet need some sort of termination or just unplug and return the Joey.
     
  8. Bobby

    Bobby Publican Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Posts:
    56,244
    Likes Received:
    9,640
    Location:
    Rohnert Park, CA
    You can just send it back. If a termination was required they would need to send a truck, they don't assume you know anything about how to terminate or even what a terminator looks like.
     
    HipKat and Tampa8 like this.
  9. Tampa8

    Tampa8 I'll Stand Up and Say So Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    Posts:
    17,415
    Likes Received:
    6,578
    Location:
    Tampa/Eastern Ct
    Don't we all know though?

    [​IMG]
     
    JeffN9, DWS44, david_jr and 1 other person like this.
  10. ferl

    ferl SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Posts:
    66
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Troy, IL
    Are you saying that leaving that coax unterminated won't have a negative impact on the MOCA or signal quality to the hopper3 or superjoey? I've always wanted things done correctly. I'm guessing that if they send a truck, the tech would replace the splitter or whatever it's called these days, or screw some kind of terminating cap on the coax.
     
  11. HipKat

    HipKat SatelliteGuys Master Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2017
    Posts:
    5,116
    Likes Received:
    8,409
    Location:
    Pekin, IL
    If you want to terminate it, go for it. It won't hurt anything
     
    charlesrshell and JSheridan like this.
  12. ferl

    ferl SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Posts:
    66
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Troy, IL
    So, if it wont "hurt anything", It won't help anything either?
     
    HipKat likes this.
  13. Bobby

    Bobby Publican Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Posts:
    56,244
    Likes Received:
    9,640
    Location:
    Rohnert Park, CA
    It won’t hurt a thing! and you can’t have a Super Joey with a Hopper 3. ;)
     
    charlesrshell and JSheridan like this.
  14. ferl

    ferl SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Posts:
    66
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Troy, IL
    I now have the hopper3 and 2 Joeys of some sort. The kid moved and it goes unused.
     
  15. ferl

    ferl SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Posts:
    66
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Troy, IL
    Thanks everyone for the guidance. I can be kind of thick sometimes, or so my wife says. I suppose she's right :)
     
  16. bookworm370

    bookworm370 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Posts:
    532
    Likes Received:
    53
    Location:
    Columbus, Ohio
    If you call Dish and give them the Joey receiver ID, they will send you a pre-paid UPS box with sticker so you can send it back to them.

    You are correct to electrically terminate the old cable as it will mess with the signal degradation and impedance of the 75 ohm coax.

    There are two ways to do this, either at the old Joey end in which case you would just need a barrel connector and a 75ohm terminating plug.

    The terminators are dirt cheap, you used to be able to get them at Radio Shack but I still think Home Depot or Lowes might have them.
    But either way, you can get a pack of 10 for about $5 from Amazon Prime.



    I you have an loose or unterminated coax lines, you really need to put a 75ohm load on it so it doesn't 'leak' out signal.

    So if you can trace the cable back to the block where it comes from, simply unscrew it and screw in the terminating plug.

    If you don't want that hassle, you can just get some coax barrel connectors (I know HD has those). Screw one end into the coax and screw the terminating plug into the other and you are done.

    If you are lazy and just want to get it all delivered, here is the link from Amazon for the barrel connectors (you may even have some laying around).
    There are tons of them on Amazon for just a cheap, just search on 'cable barrel connector' But if you them make sure you get the ones with the BLUE center insulator as Dish also supplies a higher power over the MOCA connection.

    Here is an example of some. If you go to HD, then don't get the ones that are white of clear in the center, make sure they are the blue ones.



    These are 10 for 8 bucks but they also have packs of 5 for 5. Personally it's good to have some laying around in case you need to extend and existing coax cable.
     
    charlesrshell likes this.
  17. Bobby

    Bobby Publican Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Posts:
    56,244
    Likes Received:
    9,640
    Location:
    Rohnert Park, CA
  18. HipKat

    HipKat SatelliteGuys Master Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2017
    Posts:
    5,116
    Likes Received:
    8,409
    Location:
    Pekin, IL
    I have no idea what you're talking about here. Removing a Joey and not terminating is not a big deal, however, if you're talking about terminating a "live" cable from the LNBF at the ground block, that is a HUGE no-no
     
  19. ferl

    ferl SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Posts:
    66
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Troy, IL
    Thanks. I've already called and the return process is in the works. I also asked the the service rep and was told nothing needs to be done at my house. I've learned to never trust what someone in a sales/service position says. That's why I asked here first. You've confirmed what I suspected and provided information to substantiate your advice. The time, effort and information provided in your reply is greatly appreciated.
     
  20. MikeD-C05

    MikeD-C05 Pub Member / Supporter Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Posts:
    24,952
    Likes Received:
    13,588
    Location:
    Nederland , Texas
    I think he means terminating the signal from the node or the newer switch that goes to the potential joeys you wouldn’t need on your system.
     
    TheKrell likes this.

Separate names with a comma.

More...