Report: DirecTV plan to go all-HD ahead of schedule

Discussion in 'DIRECTV Support Forum' started by dishrich, Mar 12, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dishrich

    dishrich Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    Posts:
    3,260
    Likes Received:
    309
    Location:
    Springfield, IL
  2. lacubs

    lacubs SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Posts:
    1,516
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    Erie, Pa
    i don't believe anything at tvpredictions
     
    Troch77, whitewolf8214 and dishrich like this.
  3. mike123abc

    mike123abc Too many cables Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2003
    Posts:
    22,582
    Likes Received:
    1,141
    Location:
    Norman, OK
    It would certainly be nice to see providers start to go HD only.
     
  4. maestro7

    maestro7 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Posts:
    250
    Likes Received:
    54
    I've followed Phillip Swann's newsletter for many years and have rarely found him to be less than reputable. This is, of course, my opinion.

    Regardless, Mr. Swann is merely reporting on the facts as they now stand, in that DirecTV *could* go all-HD if they chose to do so.

    As the OP stated, I'll also believe it when it actually happens (and I can then hopefully take financial advantage).
     
  5. Tampa8

    Tampa8 Supporting Founder Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    Posts:
    17,618
    Likes Received:
    6,894
    Location:
    Tampa/Eastern Ct
    TV Predictions over the years has been a leader - in passing on pure speculation. That said I actually do believe Direct could be ahead of schedule.
     
  6. Aridon

    Aridon SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Posts:
    546
    Likes Received:
    47
    Easy to say when no schedule has been announced.

    Click bait.
     
  7. goaliebob99

    goaliebob99 SatelliteGuys Master Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2004
    Posts:
    14,439
    Likes Received:
    479
    Location:
    -.-. .... .. -.-. .- --. ---
    Swanni is kind of half right. DirecTV could add the 60 HD channels needed to go full HD, but that has nothing to do with removing SD's at the 101 slot. What I think will happen is we will see DirecTV add those channels later on this summer at D14's slot. What this is going to require is moving stuff back to D10 and D15 will replace D10 later on this year so there will be a fresh sat in orbit in case D10 dies. If I was a betting man, those moves are going to happen allot sooner than later and we could all those channels move from D14 back to D10 very very soon. (Speculation) Once that happens D14 is free'd back up so they can finish what ever transponder building that is left if it already hasn't been done, and then they can prep D14 for new national HD.

    Knowing Directv they are going to want to keep some bandwidth in reserve for disaster recovery until D15 launches and beyond. If D15 goes up like D14 did then we may see a more liberal use of bandwidth. D15 going up is going to be a huge relief for Directv, especially if there are no issues with the bird. Until then keep your fingers crossed. Eventually SD's over at 101 probably will be converted over to MPEG4 and those with an HD counterpart will be dropped, going all HD. It's something that I am sure everyone at DirecTV would like to do, but it just hasn't happened yet. It will though eventually.
     
  8. Zashel

    Zashel SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2015
    Posts:
    636
    Likes Received:
    86
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    SD needs to die a quick firey painful death...
     
  9. TheTechGuru

    TheTechGuru SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Posts:
    1,516
    Likes Received:
    74
    Location:
    Texas
    Ya, I've already ran across incorrect information. They need a fact checker.


    What a complete BS lie!!!

    I know for a fact NASA, POP/TVGN, Sprout, HSN, and possibly Esquire or ElRey are in fact available in HD because I've seen them for myself on CBand!!!
     
    Tampa8 likes this.
  10. Claude Greiner

    Claude Greiner SatelliteGuys Master Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    Posts:
    12,694
    Likes Received:
    3,423
    Location:
    Detroit - The Paris of the Midwest
    I could see them adding the HD versions of all the channels, I think we are 3-4 years away with them completely getting rid of SD equipment.

    They already took the first step eliminating the HD access fees. Not happy about the charge for the first receiver, but I see why it had to be done.

    Just too many penny pinchers taking SD equipment for use on an HDTV because they where too cheap to pay the $10
     
  11. Claude Greiner

    Claude Greiner SatelliteGuys Master Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    Posts:
    12,694
    Likes Received:
    3,423
    Location:
    Detroit - The Paris of the Midwest
    A far better solution would have been making HD access optional, charging $5 for HD access and requiring MPEG 4 HD equipment on all new installs going forward.
     
  12. Jimbo

    Jimbo SatelliteGuys Master Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2005
    Posts:
    60,863
    Likes Received:
    2,731
    Location:
    NW Ohio - Buckeye Country
    So, were saving $4 on the bill now ?

    HD access was $10, now thats not charged, but they added a $6 or is it $7 now recvr fee to cover thier losses.
     
  13. TheRatPatrol

    TheRatPatrol SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Posts:
    343
    Likes Received:
    102
    SD should have died 5 years ago.
     
  14. Jimbo

    Jimbo SatelliteGuys Master Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2005
    Posts:
    60,863
    Likes Received:
    2,731
    Location:
    NW Ohio - Buckeye Country
    I think I said the same thing in a different thread ... if it will help the HD, it can't happen soon enough. :)

    That said, it will take time if they are to remove all SD working recvrs .
     
  15. edisonprime

    edisonprime SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2012
    Posts:
    2,351
    Likes Received:
    714
    Location:
    55901
    FXM needs to be HD, NOW!!!
     
  16. TheRatPatrol

    TheRatPatrol SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Posts:
    343
    Likes Received:
    102
    Everything needs to be in HD now.
     
  17. KraziJoe

    KraziJoe SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Posts:
    98
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Limington, Maine, United States
    Stop giving tvpredictions hits!!!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Separate names with a comma.

More...