Ribbon Cable RG6 Compression Connector Problem

Status
Please reply by conversation.

Lone Gunman

SatelliteGuys Pro
Original poster
Mar 19, 2010
southeast
Finally broke down and bought some compression connectors and the tool to replace the screw on RG6 "F" connectors I've been using for the past 16 years. Problem is the RG6 in the ribbon cable I have is TOO large to fit into those fittings?? I've tried several times to install one on that cable but when I try to push it on, it only goes in less than 1/4" then winds up pushing the outer jacket back as well leaving nothing to crimp to??

That cable measures .275 OD and the standard drop cable RG6 I have on a roll here only measures .253 OD so the ribbon cable RG6 is .022 larger in diameter than regular RG6 drop cable?

Anyone run into this problem before and if so, what did you do?

Thanks

Finally broke down and bought some compression connectors and the tool to replace the screw on RG6 "F" connectors I've been using for the past 16 years. Problem is the RG6 in the ribbon cable I have is TOO large to fit into those fittings?? I've tried several times to install one on that cable but when I try to push it on, it only goes in less than 1/4" then winds up pushing the outer jacket back as well leaving nothing to crimp to??

That cable measures .275 OD and the standard drop cable RG6 I have on a roll here only measures .253 OD so the ribbon cable RG6 is .022 larger in diameter than regular RG6 drop cable?

Anyone run into this problem before and if so, what did you do?

Thanks
Which compression fittings are you using? I use these fittings with cable that is .270" OD and they slip on easily.

Last edited:
Are you using quad-shield RG6 ? Unless you peel the second foil from between the two braids and prepare it right it fits too tight. Prepare the end right and they slide right on.