Ricmond VA New to OTA

Dan in VA

SatelliteGuys Guru
Original poster
Nov 28, 2012
Virginia
Good afternoon, I'm new to OTA and planning for what I will need. Last time I had an antenna was 14 years and 4 states ago. It worked great but when I moved I decided to use Dish only. Now I'm just west of Richmond about 2 miles or so from the major network antennas. I plan to install in an attic with a fairly about 30+ feet up, cement board siding, and an asphalt roof. I have coax running into a nearby room that I would like to tap into and feed to my distribution block.

I'm looking for advice on antenna type and if I need a preamp. Not knowing much about antennas I've looked at a few DIYs that I thought would be fun to try and build, but then I remembered I have two kids under 3 and not much spare time ;). I've been looking at two types but open to all suggestions. The two types are: RCA ANT751 and Terrestrial Digital DB8 Multi-Directional 'Bowtie'.

Thank you

Here is my report http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wrapper&Itemid=29&q=id=e1c6f0e6ced69d

OTA.JPG

Good afternoon, I'm new to OTA and planning for what I will need. Last time I had an antenna was 14 years and 4 states ago. It worked great but when I moved I decided to use Dish only. Now I'm just west of Richmond about 2 miles or so from the major network antennas. I plan to install in an attic with a fairly about 30+ feet up, cement board siding, and an asphalt roof. I have coax running into a nearby room that I would like to tap into and feed to my distribution block.

I'm looking for advice on antenna type and if I need a preamp. Not knowing much about antennas I've looked at a few DIYs that I thought would be fun to try and build, but then I remembered I have two kids under 3 and not much spare time ;). I've been looking at two types but open to all suggestions. The two types are: RCA ANT751 and Terrestrial Digital DB8 Multi-Directional 'Bowtie'.

Thank you