RV and Home satellite

dave10a

Original poster
Oct 15, 2009
USA
I am new to DN on the Eastern Arc with two VIP 222K receivers in my home. I have a 381 Receiver in my Motor Home with a Dish twin 500 with a 21 switch. I tried to have DN authorize my 381 receiver, but they refused to add that receiver to my existing account and was told that I had to start a new account to get the 110 and 119 satellite programming. I am not willing to pay double to get the same programming in my motor home as my house.
I Emailed DN and asked if they could recommend better alternatives than starting another account and they replied that I should call customer service to ask them. I had already done that and they would not suggest any other way than start a new account.
I started thinking on my own and thought I could purchase a Dish 1000.4 for my motor home and use one of my house 222K to connect while traveling the USA. I am not sure if the Dish police would capture and punish me for such a simple solution. Can I pick up the EA satellites while traveling in the west, and if the receiver is not connected to a phone line will that be a problem?
The main reason I canceled my Comcast account for satellite is so I could have the same TV in my motor home while traveling as I do my home. If I can not do that I will go back to Comcast because of their HS internet.

I am new to DN on the Eastern Arc with two VIP 222K receivers in my home. I have a 381 Receiver in my Motor Home with a Dish twin 500 with a 21 switch. I tried to have DN authorize my 381 receiver, but they refused to add that receiver to my existing account and was told that I had to start a new account to get the 110 and 119 satellite programming. I am not willing to pay double to get the same programming in my motor home as my house.