RV Service Shouldn't Be THIS HARD

Discussion in 'DIRECTV Support Forum' started by Jerry Cox, Aug 6, 2018.

  1. Jerry Cox

    Jerry Cox Topic Starter Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2018
    Posts:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Virginia Beach
    Very frustrating
    • I have most expensive Genie service (4K/DVR) at home
    • I have 4 TV's/receivers at home
    • I have new RV with Winegard/T4 dish mounted on roof
    • I DO NOT have a receiver for RV yet
    Been on phone for countless hours with DirecTV people (VERY frustrating) trying to get a receiver added to my account so I can activate new Winegard. I have a receiver I'm not using but it can't be activated.

    Am advised that because I have the Genie 4K DVR system at home (where all the receivers "talk" to a main DVR) I can't add the RV to my existing account. Therefore, the only option I'm given with DirecTV is to create a NEW account for just the RV; WITH all the additional charges and another 2 year contract. Amazing.

    Dish offers a month-month for RV's so Winegard recommends I switch service.

    Is this REALLY my only 2 options? Pay an arm and a leg for a new DirecTV account and 2 year contract or go to Dish?

    I really hope I'm wrong?
     
  2. HoTat2

    HoTat2 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Posts:
    851
    Likes Received:
    214
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA.
    If you have the Genie 2 (HS17), then sorry to say you're NOT wrong.

    As only RVU clients (STB types or RVU capable TVs) are allowed on the residential account.

    So unfortunately, yes, you must setup a second RV account to activate the new receiver.

    And believe me there have been lots of complaints about this limitation on the G2, but so far DIRECTV refuses to budge.



    Sent from my LG-H932 using Tapatalk
     
  3. Jerry Cox

    Jerry Cox Topic Starter Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2018
    Posts:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Virginia Beach
    WOW....thanks for the feedback.
     
  4. raoul5788

    raoul5788 Studebaker driver
    Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU! Supporting Founder Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,179
    Likes Received:
    7,468
    Location:
    Cheshire CT
    :welcome to Satelliteguys Jerry Cox!

    At this point, the only solution, which isn't likely to happen, is to get Directv to swap out your HS17 for an HR54. The HR54 will work with additional receivers and dvrs while still processing 4k signals.
     
  5. Jerry Cox

    Jerry Cox Topic Starter Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2018
    Posts:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Virginia Beach
    Curious.... and thanks

    Why isn't it "likely" to happen? Seems like a great solution if it allows me to add a receiver for the RV on the same account. I guess I have to threaten to cancel (again)...sigh
     
  6. Tampa8

    Tampa8 I'll Stand Up and Say So
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    Posts:
    15,313
    Likes Received:
    4,818
    Location:
    Tampa/Eastern Ct
    Just for full info Similar to Directv DISH does not allow their previous version of receivers (VIP) on an account in your home with the Hopper and Joeys mostly because they are wired differently. However in addition to Month to Month for your situation DISH does allow up to two VIP (or Wally) receivers to be added for RV use.
     
  7. mdram

    mdram SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Posts:
    3,588
    Likes Received:
    534
    Location:
    Md
    i think dish was similar when the hopper first came out, i could be wrong.
    then enough pressure was applied that they allowed an exception for rv's
     
  8. raoul5788

    raoul5788 Studebaker driver
    Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU! Supporting Founder Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,179
    Likes Received:
    7,468
    Location:
    Cheshire CT
    Assuming you are under contract, it's rare for Directv to substitute different equipment if it isn't defective. If you talk to the loyalty department they may be able to accommodate you.
     
    Jimbo likes this.
  9. Jerry Cox

    Jerry Cox Topic Starter Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2018
    Posts:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Virginia Beach
    I really would hate to have to go to Dish JUST for the RV....
    Is there an “easy” way to get to the “loyalty dept”? I spent 4 hours being passed around just to be told it wasn’t possible a little while ago.

    I’d love to have the loyalty discussion.
     
  10. raoul5788

    raoul5788 Studebaker driver
    Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU! Supporting Founder Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,179
    Likes Received:
    7,468
    Location:
    Cheshire CT
    Just call and ask to be transferred to them. That's supposed to do it.
     
  11. HoTat2

    HoTat2 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Posts:
    851
    Likes Received:
    214
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA.
    Or when you call just tell the AVR to "cancel service." And that will automatically transfer you to the Loyalty Dept.

    And the reason it is difficult to go from a G2 to HR54 is that it's considered a "downgrade" and DIRECTV's computer system is programmed not to allow that.

    Therefore it requires upper tier cus. ser. and someone with knowledge to get around this block in the system.

    Sent from my LG-H932 using Tapatalk
     
    Jimbo likes this.
  12. Jimbo

    Jimbo SatelliteGuys Master
    Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2005
    Posts:
    58,942
    Likes Received:
    2,012
    Location:
    NW Ohio - Buckeye Country
    UNLESS< he can talk them into letting him go BACK to the older system, even so at that point he has to have an older type recvr on the account like an HR24 or there abouts, something that can work independently that he could use in the RV.
     
    Jerry Cox likes this.
  13. Claude Greiner

    Claude Greiner SatelliteGuys Master
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    Posts:
    10,937
    Likes Received:
    2,138
    Location:
    Detroit - The Paris of the Midwest
    Dumbest thing ever. I don’t get what the deal is not allowing more than 1 genie on the account.
     
    Jerry Cox likes this.
  14. Darrell W Lettsome

    Darrell W Lettsome New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2018
    Posts:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Wayne, IN, 46815
    Any advice for a new guy to the field?
     
  15. raoul5788

    raoul5788 Studebaker driver
    Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU! Supporting Founder Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,179
    Likes Received:
    7,468
    Location:
    Cheshire CT
    :welcome to Satelliteguys Darrell!

    Advice about what?
     
  16. Jimbo

    Jimbo SatelliteGuys Master
    Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2005
    Posts:
    58,942
    Likes Received:
    2,012
    Location:
    NW Ohio - Buckeye Country
    Not allowing existing equipment along with the New Genie is another thing that seems pretty dumb.
     
  17. slice1900

    slice1900 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2015
    Posts:
    251
    Likes Received:
    94
    Location:
    IA
    I could see that from the standpoint of "we want to simplify things in the future by getting rid of all those outdated models". But it only makes sense if/when they allow you to have more than one Genie 2. Which I still believe will happen, eventually.
     
  18. Jimbo

    Jimbo SatelliteGuys Master
    Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2005
    Posts:
    58,942
    Likes Received:
    2,012
    Location:
    NW Ohio - Buckeye Country
    What purpose would a second genie 2 be if they have to be in the same location ? (other than another hard drive)
     
  19. slice1900

    slice1900 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2015
    Posts:
    251
    Likes Received:
    94
    Location:
    IA
    It is kind of necessary for people who have more TVs than one HS17 can handle. And why would both Genie 2s have to always be at the same location? The "same location" has always been their policy, but they've never stopped people from taking a DVR/receiver on their RV, so people who want to take on tailgating (along with a client) could do so.
     
  20. Jimbo

    Jimbo SatelliteGuys Master
    Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2005
    Posts:
    58,942
    Likes Received:
    2,012
    Location:
    NW Ohio - Buckeye Country
    I guess they could, but it seems like it would be more cumbersome to have to take the Genie2 and a client , vs just a recvr.

    I didn't know there was a limit on clients it can handle.
     

***

Separate names with a comma.

More...