Sat. 110 and 119 in Cancun, Mexico

TexasSat

Original poster
Oct 15, 2008
Hi Guys,

I live in Texas and I am a Dish Network subscriber. I get channels from Sat 110 and 119. I also have a summer house in Cancun, Mexico and when I go down there I take one of my receivers with me and hook it up to a 1.10 m dish with one LNB, and I get some of the channels (I believe the ones from 119). Since I have a spare dual LNB like the one in the Dish 500, I was thinking to take it with me down there, and replace the individual LNB with the dual LNB. Since I am a newbie I talked to the guy that helped me to install the dish in Cancun. The guy told me that I will not be able to get both SATs with one dish, but that I will have to get another Dish to install the other LNB (after saying so, he was trying to sell me one big Dish), and combine both signals using a switch (he also tried to sell me one switch for 50 dollars, when I know that I can get a good one for as little as 5 dollars). All and all, I think this guy is trying to screw me, so I wonder if somebody can tell me whether I can get both signals with only one dish with a dual LNB in Cancun, and if so, let me know how should I tweak the orientation of the dish.

You probably don't have a dual LNB(thanks for spelling it correctly) I expect you have a TWIN LNB. Technically you can mount it but the time and money would probably be better sprnt on a second dish anf a free standing switch. And don't even think about HD signals in Mexico.

Hi Guys,