Sat Finder Question for Professional Installers

JG2

Original poster
Nov 28, 2005
Hi all - I'm a Newbie here...please take it easy on me.

I hope I'm in the correct forum for this - please excuse me if I am not.

I'm wondering what type of satellite finders you guys who do installations for a living prefer. I understand there are "professional" models out there that will tell you which satellite you are picking up and give you a decent idea of the signal strength as opposed to just giving you a tone when you get a signal (the really cheap ones).

Any of you guys willing to share your thoughts, opinions, and experiences on this? Looking for something like I've described above that won't totally break the bank, though I realize you get what you pay for in most cases.

If you are curious, I'm beginning a new career in installs and have not seen anyone using a finder like I described above but it seems to me to be a good idea. I'm in Western Canada if that matters.

Feel free to pass on any other advice, tips, or tricks you feel would be valuable to someone in my situation, and thanks in advance for your help.

Well for the whole time I have installed I have used a Channel Master 1008. This is not one of those meter that tells you what satellite you are locked onto, but is not a cheap one either. I have found this to be the easiest meter to use.

I have tried the Biddog and the CM 1009. Both can only be used on 1 LNB at a time and cost about $350 - 400. There is another meter out there I think it was made by Applied Telecom and it ran about $1100. Was a nice unit but the 1008 works just fine for me.

Once you know where that sats are in the sky in your area, you will know when you are pointed at the right one.

i use a channel master 1006, a digisat 2, and a cheap $10 meter also... honestly i use the cheapo meter way more than the other two powered meters, it is quick and easy to use, and i can peak the signal as well or better with it than with the other two.