Satellite 119 is locking on 110

westie91

Original poster
Jun 13, 2005
I read the previous posts about this problem, but I was wondering if anyone can shed more light on this problem.

I have a DP 500 Twin.

I recently remounted my dish on top of my garage. I get Satellite 110, but but no 119. Therefore, I don't get anything except for locals and some other worthless channels.

When at the point dish screen 110 has a great signal and when I switch to check out 119 it also has a strong signal, but it is locking on the wrong Satellite (110). What is the deal?

Why does 119 lock on 110.
If I make any minor adjustments to find 119 I lose 110 and there is no signal at all.

I'm a newbie so please excuse my rookie questions. All the feedback, help, scolding are appreciated.

Dallas :confused:

westie91 said:
I read the previous posts about this problem, but I was wondering if anyone can shed more light on this problem.

I have a DP 500 Twin.

I recently remounted my dish on top of my garage. I get Satellite 110, but but no 119. Therefore, I don't get anything except for locals and some other worthless channels.

When at the point dish screen 110 has a great signal and when I switch to check out 119 it also has a strong signal, but it is locking on the wrong Satellite (110). What is the deal?

Why does 119 lock on 110.
If I make any minor adjustments to find 119 I lose 110 and there is no signal at all.

I'm a newbie so please excuse my rookie questions. All the feedback, help, scolding are appreciated.

Dallas :confused:
first off welcome to satguys, second, try a check switch as your first thing, and then come back and tell us if that works, the check switch is in the same screen as your signal meter you have been looking at!

your dish is pointed 9-degree too far east. The receiver will always say there is signal even if it says wrong sat. That's because you are pointed at a satellite, it just ain't 119. Bring your dish back to the west 9 degrees.