satellite dish actuator clamp placement

Discussion in 'Free To Air (FTA) Discussion' started by Tunder, Dec 8, 2018 at 11:41 AM.

  1. Tunder

    Tunder Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Family
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2014
    Posts:
    114
    Likes Received:
    79
    Location:
    California
    Hello Gents
    I removed my actuator because it was binding a little, I have a 24" Venture Actuator on a 10' dish, my true south satellite is 117.0, I have noticed that when it move to the east it can only go down to around 87 sat and most likely the clamp on the actuator is not set properly so the dish can go farther east.
    What is the rule of thumb on how to set the actuator clamp if there is any, or what is the best way to set it, any comments would be much appreciated.
    Regards.
    Tunder
     
  2. waylew

    waylew SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Posts:
    2,390
    Likes Received:
    783
    Location:
    northern new york
    Here's how I have mine on my Pinnacle;
    100_0471.JPG 100_0472.JPG
     
  3. Tunder

    Tunder Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Family
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2014
    Posts:
    114
    Likes Received:
    79
    Location:
    California
    Thanks waylew
    From the end of the outer tube to the clamp how far is it, hard to tell from these pictures.
    Let me know.
    Regards.
    Tunder
     
  4. waylew

    waylew SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Posts:
    2,390
    Likes Received:
    783
    Location:
    northern new york
    Don't know,never measured it,probably around an inch.Just enough room to clamp the boot on to the end of the tube.
    Basically I just suck the actuator all the way in and set the dish to just at or a little below the horizon.
     
  5. Magic Static

    Magic Static FTA Geek
    Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU! Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Posts:
    6,181
    Likes Received:
    3,032
    Location:
    Montana
    Since you are on the west coast put the actuator on the east side of the dish. With the actuator tube fully retracted loosen the actuator clamp and move the dish letting the actuator slip through the clamp until the dish is pointed just below your eastern most satellite. Tighten the clamp and reprogram your DiSEqC box :)
     
  6. KE4EST

    KE4EST SatelliteGuys Is My Second Home
    Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU!

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Posts:
    24,047
    Likes Received:
    4,340
    Location:
    EM75xb
    Yes, what Magic Static said above and you should be good to go.
     
  7. Tunder

    Tunder Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Family
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2014
    Posts:
    114
    Likes Received:
    79
    Location:
    California
    Thank you all, it worked very good.
    Regards.
    Tunder
     
  8. Tunder

    Tunder Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Family
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2014
    Posts:
    114
    Likes Received:
    79
    Location:
    California
    Hello Gents
    I have another question. I want to lubricate the dish the pivot points, what type of grease can I use/ is ok to use Molyslip liquid grease?
    Let me know what you use.
    Regards.
    Tunder
     
  9. Magic Static

    Magic Static FTA Geek
    Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU! Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Posts:
    6,181
    Likes Received:
    3,032
    Location:
    Montana
    I use "Red Grease".
     
    KE4EST and primestar31 like this.
  10. primestar31

    primestar31 SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Posts:
    6,680
    Likes Received:
    2,686
    Location:
    Beta Omicron Delta III
    If you can't see this, you need to temp disable your ad blocker, and hit refresh.



    [​IMG]
     
    KE4EST likes this.

Separate names with a comma.

More...