Searching 2.. for Satellite 771

Status
Please reply by conversation.

ultrablu

Original poster
Mar 10, 2008
Hello I am new to this...I hope that I am posting in the correct area. I am new to DirecTV since Feb.29th. Everything worked fine for a few days until day before yesterday, about only 1/2 of my HD channels would display... Searching 2 satellite 771. I checked the signals on all satellites. Nothing on 99s or 103s and only about 85-89 on tuner 1 on satellite 103c no signal at all on tuner 2 satellite 103c All of the rest of the satellites had between 90 and 99 on both tuners. I am using brand new HR20. I was wondering what the specifications were regarding the signal strengths on the satellites listed. I telephoned the tech..he advised that 103c was the important one. I wanted to check with other experts to verify.

I swapped the B bands, reset the receiver still read searching on 2. I am not sure, but wouldn't that have made tuner 1 show up as searching?

Try doing a reset, then enter " 0 2 4 6 8" as soon as you see the blue Welcome screen. This will force a download of the latest software which sometimes clears this problem up (provided it isn't an issue with the cabling).

Funny thing happened after your message... the receiver would not even switch channels. I did the reboot as advised. This seemed to have initially liven up some of the HD channels, however not completely. The tech showed up early and swapped the HR 20 with the HR 21..Problem fixed.

Many thanks for your help.

I had the same situation about a year ago and had to have an HR20 replaced - one of the sat tuners started failing. Just as an FYI, if they replace the box and the problem comes back they need to come out and replace the multiswitch and lnb on the dish (unless there is a cable problem - like a dog bite or something).

Couple things to check..

Channels 480 - 481 should confirm b-band converts are working