Seem to have lost everything

• WELCOME TO THE NEW SERVER!

If you are seeing this you are on our new server WELCOME HOME!

While the new server is online Scott is still working on the backend including the cachine. But the site is usable while the work is being completes!

Thank you for your patience and again WELCOME HOME!

CLICK THE X IN THE TOP RIGHT CORNER OF THE BOX TO DISMISS THIS MESSAGE

carnold535

Original poster
Jun 1, 2009
Central Florida
Good evening one and all!

I am new to SatelliteGuys but I do appreciate all of the great information on the pages. I have a problem that I am trying to resolve.

My equipment...
DVR501
Standard Dish
SW21
two dual LNBFs
Radio Shack Satellite Signal finder

My problem started last week during some good rain storms we had here in Central Florida. I lost signal several times and attributed it to rain fade. Thursday night there were no storms while I was watching TV and I lost signal several times. It kept happening so I tried to check the signal strength and it was registering 0. I tried to check the switch (SW21) and I received an error that there was no switch. From that point forward I could not get any more signals and lost all reception.

I checked for interference between the dish and the satellites and decided to trim a tree that was close by. That didn't help. Next I decided to move the dish about 12 feet higher up the tower. I relocated the Dish and replaced the old cable with new 25' RG6U Quad shield cables. I used a compass to try and get the right heading for the dish and set my bolts. Upon checking the receiver, still no signals even after moving the dish east to west and moving it up and down. This is when I bought the signal finder.