Self Installation Help Needed

Dawgfan2010

Original poster
Sep 15, 2010
Georgia
I am trying to self install a Dish 500 system. I tried having it professionally installed but installers take one look at our trees and refuse to even try. I am a definite newbie at this so please be patient! :) I have a Quad LNB hooked directly into a DVR 522. I have managed to find 110W but the signal is coming in on the 119w side of the LNB.

The settings for my area are...

Azimuth - 233
Elevation - 39
Skew - 131

The elevation of 39 did not work for me and I finally found 110w (with 120% signal on transponder 11) at an elevation of 49. All other settings are correct. I did check my mast and it is level on all sides. I have been unable to get 110w to come in on the correct side of the LNB. I finally skewed the dish back to 90 degrees thinking that if I found the signal again that I could just turn the dish and have the 110w come in on the correct side of the lnb. No such luck.

At this point, i am out of ideas and looking for suggestions. I would appreciate any help that can be given. If I have left out of necessary info, please let me know and I will try and get it.

I did run a check switch test and get the message "Missing: Port 2A odd & Missing: Port 2B even"

Edit to Add: I have searched this forum and read thru numerous posts before posting this but I had no luck. Which is why I am reaching out for help.

If you are using a quad, you need 2 lines from the dish to the rec. 1 line from a quad to a separator will give you odd results everytime

Drop the elevation back down to 39 and turn dish to the right